Adding Memory

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris-C, Feb 21, 2002.

  1. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi:

    I just added a 128mb chip to my HP laptop.

    The question is---Do I have to run an installer program? Or does it just start doing it's thang?

    Obviously i'm a little challenged in this area,so any help appreciated.

    I restarted the Laptop,and everything worked as before-with no noted mention of new hardware,so I assume it's a non issue?

    Thanks

    CC
     
  2. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    W/ most computers, you will have to do nothing after the memory is installed. If your OS recognized the memory, you're good to go.
     
  3. Duncan Barth

    Duncan Barth Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2000
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are running windows, right click on 'my computer' Select properties. The window that pops up should tell you how much RAM you have in your machine.

    If the amount listed seems right, you're good to go!
     
  4. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys! You're the greatest!

    It does indeed show that I now have 256mb ram!!!!!!

    Regards

    CC
     

Share This Page