adding DLP Pojectors??

Discussion in 'Displays' started by LouAR, Feb 10, 2004.

1. LouAR

LouAR Stunt Coordinator

Feb 10, 2004
    While I am new to HTF but I’m not completely an HT newbie. Sorry in advance for the lengthy post but all seems relevant to my questions.

My system:
    Sony Wega 36”
    Onkio w/DTS receiver
    Bose Accoustimass 10
    Toshiba SD-4700 DVD
    Monster 3 cables w/optical audio and component V. on DVD

Considering adding a DLP projector and screen for my DVD collection (to enjoy a large picture). Here in the middle of AZ, there is only one HT store selling only very high end equipment and charging $150/hr for consulting. So, I came here hoping for a bit of advice.

Still on a budget, I am considering a lower end projector. CNET points to Mitsubishi XD50U and Dell 3200 MP (both 1024 x 768). Recent postings here seem to favor the March arrival of Infocus 4805. Preliminary screen research indicates Da-Lite screens can be purchased under $400 for a manual or about $750 electric (52x92).

I have a place to hang the screen and if I do this, will only pull out the projector for viewing (not perm. install) and adding a secondary s-video cable to the DVD player. Projector throw approx 14.5 feet.

1) Without being able to go anywhere to see projectors side by side is there any way to evaluate anticipated picture quality? Anticipating nighttime use only, I am not concerned about ambient light. The local HT store’s proj’s start at $5000 so I have no idea what to expect from units priced around $1,600.
    2) These projectors claim “adjustable picture size” how do I determine optimal throw distance as compared with what to expect from my anticipated 14.5 foot throw?