adding an amp to a receiver?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul_Spalvieri, Oct 9, 2001.

  1. Paul_Spalvieri

    Paul_Spalvieri Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    How exactly do I add an external amp to my HT receiver? Can any one explain it to me in simple terms?
     
  2. CRyan

    CRyan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 1999
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    This can only be done if you have non-amplified "RCA" preouts along with the regular speaker terminals. These would be used to hook up the amp to the receiver.
    Not all amps have these so you will have to look.
    C. Ryan
    ------------------
    http://www.elitestoragedesigns.com/RyanOAR.bmp
     
  3. Norm Strong

    Norm Strong Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    You cannot "add" an amplifier to the one in a receiver. You may substitute an external amplifier for the one in the receiver--if the receiver has preamp outputs. Of course, then you are wasting your receiver's amplifiers.
    ------------------
    Norm Strong ([email protected])
     
  4. Rob Roth

    Rob Roth Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is typically done only if you are "running out of gas", i.e. your receiver can not keep up with your volume requirements and /or your speaker requirements.
    My B&K receiver had 7 channels of amps- and pretty good amps at that. I kept the front two channels on the receiver and put all my 5 surround channels on an outboard B&K amp. Now my receiver runs very easy and its large power supply is used only by the front mains. In two channel listening I don't even use/turn on my big multichannel amp.
    Look on the back of the receiver for the output jacks.
     

Share This Page