1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Adding a power plug to an ATI 8500

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Glenn Overholt, Aug 22, 2004.

  1. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I made the mistake of cracking open my PC case today, and noticed (for the first time) that there is a socket on the rear of this board for a mini power plug.

    But I couldn't find anything in the manuals that even mentioned it. Is that what it is and has anyone hooked it up? (I can see it being for something else, and watching it smoke!)

    Glenn
     
  2. DaveGTP

    DaveGTP Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I seem to have read something about this. I was considering the same thing, because my 8500 has started acting very strangely (weird artifacts) and my research has suggested a power issue. Anybody know?
     
  3. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow! Thanks Dave, I was beginning to worry. How about this - if it isn't for that, what else could it be for?

    Glenn
     
  4. Mark Shannon

    Mark Shannon Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a fan on the board? It could be for some kind of external cooling?
     
  5. DaveGTP

    DaveGTP Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I finally found some reference to the power plug. Is your 8500 an all-in-wonder?

    http://mirror.ati.com/support/connec...wirepower.html



    From a review of the 8500DV:


    http://www.mrpcpro.com/reviews/0009/page6.shtml


    I swear my 8500 has one of these too, but it's not an AIW or a DV card...it's a 64MB Radeon 8500 (non-LE)...it's hard to find info on my particular configuration, as it isn't really very common.

    I think I will actually try hooking up a spare floppy power cable to the connector, and see if it helps my problem. The card is already pointless anyway as-is. Can't get much worse.
     
  6. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, that must be it Dave. the reason I asked was because their newer boards have standard sockets on them, and they can drain a power supply, and if you have enough crap connected, you'll not get the maximum output from your card.

    Some people have even added a second AT power supply (which doesn't need any connections to the motherboard to work) to their PC's, giving the card an extra boost.

    Glenn
     

Share This Page