What's new

adcom poweramp questons. (1 Viewer)

Bryan Michael

Supporting Actor
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
564
i was looking at the new Adcom GFA-7807 7 channels at 300 wats rms @8ohms. i calcuate a 16 amp draw at 300 wats rms all channels driven. id this what it will realey draw? i also have a 500watt 2 channel amp for my subs. that can draw 8 amps. now the problem i olny have a 20 amp deticated ht line.

or should i just look at the b&k ref 200.7


thanks
 

Yogi

Screenwriter
Joined
Jul 25, 2002
Messages
1,741
Dont worry you will never reach those kinds of draw on your line with all the amps connected to it. Can you imagine what kind of SPL levels will exist with 3100 W of RMS power going into your speakers and your sub? You will only be using 300W in some channels momentarily during the action scenes. So just dont worry about this issue and get the Adcom.
 

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Moderator
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 5, 1999
Messages
6,824
Location
Corpus Christi, TX
Real Name
Wayne
Bryan,

Yogi’s right. Unless you have extremely inefficient speakers or a huge room you will never hit the 300-watt mark with your mains.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
 

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
7,270
well maybe he's got a 1000 ft of 32 gauge...whatcha gonna do then, huh?
yes, if you like it, get it.
 

Yogi

Screenwriter
Joined
Jul 25, 2002
Messages
1,741
Or maybe he is also using the amp to jump start his tow truck on cold winter mornings.
 

Bryan Michael

Supporting Actor
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
564
i have 1 more q would my monsterpower 3500 handle the draw? it is rated at 15 amps. thanks got all your advice
 

Yogi

Screenwriter
Joined
Jul 25, 2002
Messages
1,741
There could be instances when you could trip the breaker on your monsterpower as its only rated for 15 amps, so having a 20 amp main breaker doesnt do much. Have you thought about hooking the amp directly to the wall? Amps usually have enough protection that will protect them in case of a sudden surge and in case lightning ever strikes your home nothing will protect your gear, not even monster power, IMHO.
 

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
7,270
well you could install a set of devices on your house to guard against that possiblity, but if you're not going to protect the amp might as well not protect anything else. again, to beat a dead horse ;), if you put in a whole house unit, it all becomes a moot point.
 

Bryan Michael

Supporting Actor
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
564
thanks for the advice i guess next month when i get the amp if i can find a local dealer for it i will have to get a new surge protector for my sub amp.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Sign up for our newsletter

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more







You will only receive emails from us. We will never sell or distribute your email address to third party companies at any time.

Forum statistics

Threads
357,016
Messages
5,128,521
Members
144,245
Latest member
thinksinc
Recent bookmarks
0
Top