What's new

Adcom and paradigm (1 Viewer)

Stephen_Rob

Stunt Coordinator
I have a Denon avr 1905 with paradigm mini moitors. I am happy with it for Home theater but i want a little more for 2 channel audio. I am a student and don't have very much money. I was thinking of getting a used Adcom gfa 555. I can get one for $500CAD off of the canuck Audio market. I was curious if this would be a good Idea and a good match to the mini monitors.

brentl

Senior HTF Member
The 55 is a nice amp, but I think it's overkill.

The Denon puts out 100WPC right? Remember that jumping to 200WPC will only increase the maximum output by 3DBs.

You'll never use the extra 3DBs with the Paradigms.

Also remember that the 555 can be 20 years old! It was a great value amp in its day, but things progress.

Brent

Stephen_Rob

Stunt Coordinator
The denon is 80wpc. SO what your saying is that you don't think that the mini's will benifit from the extra power.

Shiu

Second Unit
I am not sure about those paradigms. When I was using the Polk Audio RTi38 for the front channels, I was getting slight, but noticeable improvement (only at very high volume) when I used my GFA555 with the 3805's pre-outs. The 555 may be 20 years old but I think it still beats most mid level receivers.

brentl

Senior HTF Member
As stat6ed by Shiu "I was getting slight, but noticeable improvement (only at very high volume) ".

I wouldn't waste my money on this, $500 towards a better 2 channel amp would make more sense.

I'd consider something like a pair of Marantz MA500 mono block amps would sound very nice with the Paradigms.

Anyways, there is nothing wrong with the amp, good quality and name. I'm more worried that it's overkill for right now, but maybe in the future you'll be able to use the amps full power. So that's another thought I guess.

I'm also worried about the age of the amp. They made a couple of versions of this amp, try to find out which version it is first.

Brent

Dan DRC

Stunt Coordinator