1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

ADCOM amps

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike_Ped, Sep 28, 2001.

  1. Mike_Ped

    Mike_Ped Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 16, 2001
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    For those of you that know this company, perhaps you can help. I'm looking on Ebay at one of these bad boys. The model is GFA-5400 and it's going for $200 with 6 hours left. From what I can gather, it's 200 Watts to 4 ohms. However, what I'm wondering is is that total, or per channel?
    Also, can all amps be bridged or only some? Can this one?
    I'm planning on using the Tempest driver (750watts at 4ohms running parellel), is this amp enough power?
    Thanx in advance for any answers and patience with stupid questions!
     
  2. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's 200W per channel @ 4 ohms and it cannot be bridged in stock form.
    ------------------
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
     
  3. David Judah

    David Judah Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a 5400 to power my Tempest in an 8 ohm coniguration(125W per VC)and it is adequate for my needs.
    It really depends how loud you want to go. I generally watch movies at 10 db down and I have not driven it into distortion. Well, once actually during a demo scene of The Haunting, but it was at a level I would never normally listen at.
    To bridge it you have to pop off the cover and flip a little switch. I haven't done it but that was how it was relyed to me by an Adcom rep. He said it was very easy to do.
    DJ
     

Share This Page