What's new

Acoustic panels, how can you tell if they would help (1 Viewer)

Reid_d

Grip
How can you tell if acoustic panels would be of benefit? Besides the hand clap test there doesn't seem to be much info on how to test. We have our HT in the living room which is very large and opens into the rest of the house. Aside from making our great dane bark the hand clap didn't yield much. Is there any kind of paneling, drywall etc.. that is known to be bad for reflections. The reason for this question is we sold our house and moved into one of our rentals that has oak paneling (I think). Everything just seems to go right through the walls and reverberates into the rest of the house. The word "Booming" now has new meaning for me. Already started on bass traps, any idea if panels might also help?
Thanks

DanielSmi

Second Unit
I've never heard of panels hurting. I belive the deader the room the better I could be wrong I'm just getting started with acoustics so I'm no expert. I plan on making some ASAP since it's much cheaper and prolly just as good.

Daniel Smith

JakeMcM

Stunt Coordinator
I don't think panels will help with sound escaping through the whole house, I think that has to be solved with sheetrock, insulation, dry wall. It may help absorb a little bit but I don't know for sure. Acoustic panels do yield benefits anyway though. I think you can deaden a room too much. But absorbers or diffusors at the first reflection point on the side walls help, you find the first reflection point by moving a mirror along the wall and when sitting in teh listening position where you see the speaker is the first reflection point. Put absorber, or diffusor there, diffusors are for the most part expensive though.

I am going to make some acoustic panels per Jon Risch's instructions, you can do a search for and probably find the site I can't remember

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Reid,