What's new

absolute newbie w/ questions (1 Viewer)

bigjune62

Auditioning
Real Name
abelardo mancilla jr
hey all,
i'm very new to home theater and with some advice, bought the following equipment:

yamaha rvx 2600
yamaha dvd-c950
focal 806 stec front speakers
focal cc 800 stec center channel
3- polk tc 60 i for in ceiling rear
martin logan abyss b sub.

i have a mitsubishi ws 65513 w/ a m-link/dvi-hd input. i also have an older samsung vcr that i would like to hook up.

i see all these inputs/outputs and can't make head or tails on how to hook up these components for best audio/video. and any help would be very much appreciated.

i see hdmi, dvi, s-video, fiber optics ,etc. heeelllppp, i'm lost.
i for got to add ,i also upgraded to hd/dvr cable box from cox cable....

Alon Goldberg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Alon Goldberg
First some quick questions to get you started:

1. Do you have a DVD Player? Does it have HDMI Upconversion?
2. Will you be using your VCR for recording, or only for playback?
3. Do you want to be able to watch one channel, and record on another channel at the same time? Do you need to record digital channels?
4. I can't find the Yamaha CDP 950 on the Internet.. is this a CD Player?

As your TV is limited to only one DVI input, you'll need to decide if you want to use this input for your Cable Box, Reciever, or for Upconverting DVD. This will be easy to decide after going through the above questions.

bigjune62

Auditioning
Real Name
abelardo mancilla jr
thanks for responding alon as for the answer to your questions,
1 . the dvd player is a yamaha dvd-c950, i misqouted the part #
2 . the vcr will be only for playback.
3 . it would be nice to be able to watch one while recording another. i'm not sure if i will be recording digital channelsbut it would be nice to know that i would be able to.
4 .the dvd player does have an hdmi connection/port.

also the new cable box is a scientific atlanta, model# explorer e8300hd. it also has a hdmi port.