What's new

Absolute beginner needs some expert advice (1 Viewer)

Rob.R.S

Auditioning
You'll have to excuse me I'm brand new to ALL of this. Here's the deal: Just bought 57' Toshiba cinema ser., planning on buying Harman Kardon 520 (will someday need 2 zones), planning on buying Toshiba prog. scan dvd.,
NEED SPEAKERS,
Room size - 17'x24'- 17ft. ceilings. Room has wiring approx. 10 off the floor for 4 speakers, will need to be able to direct speakers down, Budget max $1500.00. Finally, I don't have a clue what a good speaker sounds like. All help is appreciated.

DanaA

Screenwriter
Rob,
Read this thread on Ascend speakers. They come with a very nice sub, the Hsu VTF-2 and definitely could meet your budget, although I'm not sure they come in white. The first post has a link that will take you to their site.
Click here

RandyKudor

Stunt Coordinator
Rob,

I own some ascends and couldn't be happier. Simply amazing with music and excellent for HT as well. I enquired if they were available in white (wanted a set for the bedroom). Unfortunately for me, they were not. Oh well. I have considered painting a pair though.

Best of luck!

Philip A

Agent
In your budget you could get some excellent speakers out of Canada--I bought and love some of the new Dahlquist line from Marc at the Ottawa Audio Shop (www.audioshop.on.ca/).