What's new
  • Announcing New Ownership at Home Theater Forum. Learn More

About to buy the LG OLED 77 C1 (1 Viewer)

Will Krupp

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
3,815
Location
PA
Real Name
Will
My current setup is one video output from my Denon X6500H AVR. This means all my settings have to apply to HDMI2 on the TV no matter what type of signal?

They will, yes. Apply to all inputs means that, if you calibrate a setting like ISF dark, it copies those settings over all of the HDMI inputs so you only have to do it once. Same is true of Cinema, for example, with HDR signals. Once you set it you can forget it. The TV still picks the appropriate SDR/HDR picture modes based on the type of signal being fed to it.

If you think a movie like PITCH BLACK looks good now, just wait until it you hit the break in point at about 150 hours. That's when the TV really comes to life!

I don't know if anyone has mentioned this to you, and invididual mileage may very, but I think the LG has really superior upscaling and I personally have found a much more organic appearance comes from letting the blu-ray player output its native resolution for BDs and having the TV do the final lift from 2K to 4K. Just as an FYI!
 
Last edited:

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 13, 1998
Messages
14,857
Location
Central Arkansas
Real Name
Johnny Angell
That ^ is correct. Sorry I did not think of that. Johnny please let us know if you have ISF Expert Bright and ISF Expert Dark with you cable box connected to your C1.
So far, no, because everything is coming in as HDR.
BTW, does this tv have a info screen that displays things like format of incoming video?
That screen that displays the info, is that definitely what the incoming signal is, or what the TV is converting it to. I have not run across any signal from my Tivo that isn’t HDR and 4K. Is 4K that common now on cable channels?

Lest my surprise at all the 4K seem odd, when HD was first on the horizon, the local channels said they’d be dragged kicking and screaming into the new world.

I’m so happy with the LG that I believe I’m developing a spiritual bond with it. ;)
 

Robert Crawford

Crawdaddy
Moderator
Patron
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 9, 1998
Messages
61,983
Location
Michigan
Real Name
Robert
So far, no, because everything is coming in as HDR.

That screen that displays the info, is that definitely what the incoming signal is, or what the TV is converting it to. I have not run across any signal from my Tivo that isn’t HDR and 4K. Is 4K that common now on cable channels?

Lest my surprise at all the 4K seem odd, when HD was first on the horizon, the local channels said they’d be dragged kicking and screaming into the new world.

I’m so happy with the LG that I believe I’m developing a spiritual bond with it. ;)
Something is not right as that shouldn't be the case. Every channel or program shouldn't be in 4K with HDR.
 

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 13, 1998
Messages
14,857
Location
Central Arkansas
Real Name
Johnny Angell
Something is not right as that shouldn't be the case. Every channel or program shouldn't be in 4K with HDR.
Turns out my Tivo Edge has a video resolution selection to choose. I had chosen “Auto (recommended.” That meant (according to the Tivo forum that the Tivo was doing the upscaling). Also according to the forum if I select 1080i and 720p the tivo is not doing the upscaling.

The Tivo was also converting everything to HDR. I turned that off and I discover that 720p is quite common.
 

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 13, 1998
Messages
14,857
Location
Central Arkansas
Real Name
Johnny Angell
Last night we were watching Hulu via ATV 4K for the first time. The screen would go black for moment and come back. Every 5-10 minutes it would do it. Than later I’m watching HBO Max and no problem for quite a while then it happened again, but much less frequently. Broadband speed was fine, no buffering. It’s not specific to a streamer. The ATV? Is there a setting I have to change?
 

Robert Crawford

Crawdaddy
Moderator
Patron
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 9, 1998
Messages
61,983
Location
Michigan
Real Name
Robert
Last night we were watching Hulu via ATV 4K for the first time. The screen would go black for moment and come back. Every 5-10 minutes it would do it. Than later I’m watching HBO Max and no problem for quite a while then it happened again, but much less frequently. Broadband speed was fine, no buffering. It’s not specific to a streamer. The ATV? Is there a setting I have to change?
What are your ATV settings? I'm assuming this is a ATV4K unit.

ATV4K settings should be the following:

Format: 4K SDR
HDMI Output: YCbCr
Chroma: 4:4:4
Match Content: Match Dynamic Range "On"/Match Frame Rate "On"
 

Clinton McClure

Rocket Science Department
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 28, 1999
Messages
7,199
Location
Central Arkansas
Real Name
Clint
Last night we were watching Hulu via ATV 4K for the first time. The screen would go black for moment and come back. Every 5-10 minutes it would do it. Than later I’m watching HBO Max and no problem for quite a while then it happened again, but much less frequently. Broadband speed was fine, no buffering. It’s not specific to a streamer. The ATV? Is there a setting I have to change?
My first thoughts are try a different HDMI cable or a different HDMI input on your tv. I’m assuming the tv in question is the new one?
 

Todd Erwin

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
8,757
Location
Hawthorne, NV
Real Name
Todd Erwin
Sounds like a handshake issue. Check if firmware is up to date on receiver, TV, and ATV. If everything is current and you are still having the issue, try disconnecting power to everything (I usually just turn the power off at the surge protector), wait a few minutes, then power everything up. That usually resolves any handshake issues for me.
 

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 13, 1998
Messages
14,857
Location
Central Arkansas
Real Name
Johnny Angell
What are your ATV settings? I'm assuming this is a ATV4K unit.

ATV4K settings should be the following:

Format: 4K SDR
HDMI Output: YCbCr
Chroma: 4:4:4
Match Content: Match Dynamic Range "On"/Match Frame Rate "On"

Sounds like a handshake issue. Check if firmware is up to date on receiver, TV, and ATV. If everything is current and you are still having the issue, try disconnecting power to everything (I usually just turn the power off at the surge protector), wait a few minutes, then power everything up. That usually resolves any handshake issues for me.
Last night the ATV4K wasn’t even putting out a signal per my Denon AVR. So I unplugged it’s power and HDMI and plugged them back in. Then I checked out Robert’s settings. The Format was 4K HDR (I think), HDMI output was correct as was Chroma. Both the Match Content settings were off. In all cases I corrected them to Robert’s settings.

The ATV started working and I watched a West Wing without any problems. No blanking of the screen. Yeah.

Something odd, but helpful started happening. When the new LG was first setup, my Logitech universal remote wouldn’t turn it on or off. I thought it might work since the previous TV was an LG LED. I hadn’t gotten around to doing the reprogramming when the Logitech remote stated working with the new TV. I don’t know why it started working.
 

Todd Erwin

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
8,757
Location
Hawthorne, NV
Real Name
Todd Erwin
Something odd, but helpful started happening. When the new LG was first setup, my Logitech universal remote wouldn’t turn it on or off. I thought it might work since the previous TV was an LG LED. I hadn’t gotten around to doing the reprogramming when the Logitech remote stated working with the new TV. I don’t know why it started working.
My Sony TV will do that if there's been a firmware update or a power failure. I have to use the Sony remote to power cycle the TV, and then my Logitech remote works without issue.
 

Robert Crawford

Crawdaddy
Moderator
Patron
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 9, 1998
Messages
61,983
Location
Michigan
Real Name
Robert
Last night the ATV4K wasn’t even putting out a signal per my Denon AVR. So I unplugged it’s power and HDMI and plugged them back in. Then I checked out Robert’s settings. The Format was 4K HDR (I think), HDMI output was correct as was Chroma. Both the Match Content settings were off. In all cases I corrected them to Robert’s settings.

The ATV started working and I watched a West Wing without any problems. No blanking of the screen. Yeah.

Something odd, but helpful started happening. When the new LG was first setup, my Logitech universal remote wouldn’t turn it on or off. I thought it might work since the previous TV was an LG LED. I hadn’t gotten around to doing the reprogramming when the Logitech remote stated working with the new TV. I don’t know why it started working.
If your setting is on 4K HDR or 4K Dolby Vision then everything including your ATV menu screen will have HDR or DV activated depending on which setting. By using the settings I supplied, your ATV unit will only output 4K HDR or DV once it detects such a 4K signal. Your HD material will be shown in HD.
 

Sam Posten

Moderator
Premium
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 30, 1997
Messages
32,591
Location
Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
Real Name
Sam Posten
I have those kinds of issues with Sony TV and Apple TV too. It’s not your new panel. The ATV has handshake issues. It’s frustrating but it’s manageable.

The blooming issues you are seeing with Pitch Black aren’t tv issues. They are by design and part of the encode.
 

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 13, 1998
Messages
14,857
Location
Central Arkansas
Real Name
Johnny Angell
The blooming issues you are seeing with Pitch Black aren’t tv issues. They are by design and part of the encode.
The blooming issues were with my LG UH8500 led and began with the 4K disc, the blu ray did not have those problems. The are no blooming issues with the LG OLED and Pitch Black looks wonderful on the OLED. If I had been willing to spend the time I probably could have fixed the blooming on the UH8500.
 

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 13, 1998
Messages
14,857
Location
Central Arkansas
Real Name
Johnny Angell
Great. It’s just a very different look than the previous versions I have seen!
I what way? Pitch Black was shot and processed to look very different. I know it’s dangerous to say I remember how it looked in the theater, but……I think the 4K on my OLED has got it right.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
353,109
Messages
5,008,178
Members
143,400
Latest member
rferoni
Recent bookmarks
0
Top