? about bookshelf speakers

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Jim Mcc, Jan 15, 2005.

1. Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc Producer

Jim
    I have bookshelf speakers with 6.5" woofers I want to use as my front and rear surround speakers. They have a rear hole(port) and I was wondering if I mount them flush against the drywall will that ruin the sound? Or would it be a minor thing? Where I want to mount them there is no stud, but I could use drywall anchors if I had to for speaker brackets. What does the hole(port) do, how would it affect sound? Thanks.

2. MichaelPR

MichaelPR Second Unit

I believe that you deffinately DO NOT want to mount them. I believe and I am no expert, that you will lose alot of the bass response on your speakers.

3. Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc Producer

Jim
    Michael, would losing bass be the only problem to mounting them against drywall? Because I have a subwoofer and I have all my other speakers set to "small" anyway. Is the hole(port) for air movement or something else?

4. MichaelPR

MichaelPR Second Unit

I mean if it's possible for you...and you already have it hooked up cover the hole with your hand. I just did this with one of my titans and to me it sounded awful....plus if you cover the hole the speakers extension might not go low enough to hit your receivers crossover...give you a huge dip in that select frequency. Now I really have no idea what I'm talking about but i think this is the case.

5. Max F

Max F Second Unit

I think you are asking for all kinds of problems, including having those heavy speakers crashing out of the walls. Definitely go for stands, and if you have too, at least use speaker brakets. Check out b-tech from crutchfield - they have one set that can hold pretty heavy speakers. AND USE A STUD!!

6. TylerZ

TylerZ Stunt Coordinator

Jim,