What's new

AA Batteries and charger that lasts the longest? (1 Viewer)

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
I have been having battery issues with my remote and it has been sucking the life from the batteries too fast so I thought I'd try the rechargable batteries. Anyone have experience in this area? What AA batteries last the longest when charged and what charger is good? I haven't used rechargeables since I was a kid so any info would be great.

James Zubb

Stunt Coordinator
I have experience with NiMH batteries I use for my R/C car. NiCd are not really good for electronics, they have lower capacity and memory effects (they are good for racing R/C cars, higher discharge rate, but I don't race just for fun). I have no experience with rechargable Alkalines. The NiMH battery comes in different mAh configurations. The bigger the number the longer they last.

I am using some Lenmar 1800mAh AA & 700mAh AAA NiMH batteries for my R/C car. They were about $12/$8 (AA/AAA price) I think for a 4-pack at Fry's (I think that was the price, they were the cheapest ones). They have worked well, last long on a charge.

I have a Rayovac 1 hr charger that I got at Target for about $30. You can get the regular chargers for less money ($10-$20), they take about 8-14 hours or so to charge, so if you don't need a quick turnaround then go for the less expensive one.

Ken Seeber

Supporting Actor
A really good source for Nimh batteries, as well as information about rechargeable batteries in general, is Thomas Distributing, which is in my home town, Paris, Ill.
Go to Link Removed .

Peter Apruzzese

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Peter Apruzzese