What's new

A/V reciever questions...... (1 Viewer)

JoshAH

Auditioning
I'm a noob in the home theater area, so please bare with me. If the informationg I'm looking for can be found somewhere please direct me there, I've looked around some on the forums and am still confused.....with that being said, on to my questions; I recently bought a HDMI rear projection CRT. I'd like everything to be as high quality as possible but within reasonable spending limits. I've been looking at surround sound systems/recievers and have some questions concerning input/output types. How does the whole A/V reciever setup work out? with all the specs on recievers that i've looked at no where does it say HDMI input/output or even DVI input/output...but with my understanding, say I had a DVD player with an HDMI output I'd have that go into my reciever and then from the reciever output that signal to the TV and surround sound but since I don't ever seen any where when i read speaks on recievers about HDMI(which I understand is fairly new and that could be the reason) but like I said early not even DVI, how do recievers still output an equal or near equal signal that the DVD players is outputting? Is the terminology different with recievers meaning that DVI input on a recievers is referred to as something else? I'm just worried that I have this nice HDMI tv that can output digital audio and video but due to the fact that my reciever is the weakest link I'd never get to fully experience the TV (hopefully this isn't the case). I was considering getting the Onkyo HTS770 surround system with A/V reciever but would that do the TV justice? Should I wait for newer technolog? If it would help any I'm getting a Panasonic 53" widescreen rear projection CRT with HDMI, and I'd like to try to keep my surround sound and A/V reciever under 1000 dollars. Any advice/input would be welcomed....thanks in advance. Josh

John S

Senior HTF Member