What's new

A slow year? (1 Viewer)

Jeff Whitford

Screenwriter
I've been collecting DVD's since 1997 and by far this first half of this year has been the slowest year ever. In fact most of the stuff i've bought this year have been rereleases. Not all but a big chunk . For many years there were times when I was buying two or more titles (day & date)a week. This year im lucky if a I buy two a month. I realize that alot of that had to do with the studios playing catch up getting older popular titles out but there just seems to me that there is a real lack of good stuff that has come out this year. So far. Now I will say that I dont buy alot of TV series on DVD so I have not payed much attention there but movie wise is it just my taste or do others feel this way as well? I know my wallet is happier.

Dick

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rick

All depends upon what one considers "good stuff." I've been pretty happy with the output so far in '05, particularly (of course) the Warner product. The second half looks to be a virtual bonanza of catalog titles.

Brett_B

Supporting Actor

In regards to myself, 2004 was a real disappointment for me theatrical wise. This has affected my theater going business this year by being more cautious in what I pay for. I commented to my friends not too long ago how I really wasn't buying DVDs as I used to, because the movies released in 2004 weren't anything that I wanted to see again let alone owning it. Out of all the movies released in 2004, there were only about 10 that I wanted to buy when released, and some others that I said to myself that I may buy when they reach the bargain bins.