What's new

a receiver /pre-amp/amp combo under $3500 (1 Viewer)

joy

Auditioning
Hi ,

I am longtime regular visitor on this site to educate my self. I am a newbie at this so I would appreciate the input.

I have the I have upto $3500 to spend on a reciver or pre-amp/amp combo config !!! which should last a few years hopefully. I want to do 7.1 THX and using sonance Cinema series 5 for my mains and sides.

I am not able to decide between

denon (5800 or 5803 or AE-10SE)

elite VSX-49TX

onkyo (989 or DTS9.1 or RDC-7)

B&K 307

marantz SR-14EX

Please help !!!!!

Also I may be missing some good equipment out there !!!Please suggest any other combo which suits my budget .

PS : I got this small lsit based on the revies from S&V, TPV, HTmag etc ;

Regards

Joy .

Jody C Robins

Stunt Coordinator
I am planning on using the following combo:

Preamp - Outlaw 950 - $900

Amp - Sherbourn 5/1500A (200W/channel) - $2000 MSRP, but you can find it for much less online

As I don't have either yet (the amp should be at my house tomorrow), I can't comment on the sound. However, I have read nothing but positive reviews for both, and this beats your cost of $3500. Also, I would assume this combo would out-perform the receivers you mentioned.

JackS

Supporting Actor
Jody's rec's are excellent. If you do not intend to ever use external amplification, any of the choices between the receivers you mentioned will work perfectly. If you do intend to use external amplification, I would consider the Outlaw or a much less expensive receiver as a pre-amp. Most receivers in the $1000-$1500 range should do nicely. The money you save can be spent on amplifiers. Consider Jody's suggestion first and the receiver option second.

John_Charles

Agent
I would certainly opt. for the following:

· Anthem AVM20 ~$2,535.00 (the price I paid in November - may be more now due to its popularity)