What's new

A question for Harmony Elite users. (1 Viewer)

greggor

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 6, 1999
Messages
410
Real Name
Greg
First off I love this remote. The only thing I haven't been able to figure out is how to add some functions to the activity that's been selected. What I mean is lets say I'm watching a movie. The remote swithes everything and then the controls on the remote work for the DVD player and I still have volume control for my AVR. If I want to lets say change a sound field or adjust a channel level I have to go to devices, select my AVR and make the changes there then I can go back to the activity I was on. What I want to do is add some of AVR's function to the touch screen so I can quick adjustment with out having to select my AVR. Can this be done? I can't seem to figure it out.
 

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Supporter
Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
14,562
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
One thing I like about the Elite vs the 950, which is an identical unit, without the hub, is that it allows you to customize what happens when you end an activity. Such as, "Play a Movie" can turn on the TV, set the correct hdmi input, turn on the receiver/preamp and the disc player. When you go to a different activity, like "Watch TV", the default process includes turning off the disc player, for example. On the lower models, you can't eliminate that step. With the Elite, you can.
 

greggor

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 6, 1999
Messages
410
Real Name
Greg
One thing I like about the Elite vs the 950, which is an identical unit, without the hub, is that it allows you to customize what happens when you end an activity. Such as, "Play a Movie" can turn on the TV, set the correct hdmi input, turn on the receiver/preamp and the disc player. When you go to a different activity, like "Watch TV", the default process includes turning off the disc player, for example. On the lower models, you can't eliminate that step. With the Elite, you can.

I want to say that mine already did this on it's own when I created the different activities and that surprised me. For example if I switch between two activities which require my projector to remain on it already seems to recognize that my projector is on and only switches the two video source components and places my AVR on the correct input. It knows to turn off the video source I'm no longer using.
 

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 16, 1998
Messages
16,609
Location
Mich. & S. Carolina
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
One thing I like about the Elite vs the 950, which is an identical unit, without the hub, is that it allows you to customize what happens when you end an activity. Such as, "Play a Movie" can turn on the TV, set the correct hdmi input, turn on the receiver/preamp and the disc player. When you go to a different activity, like "Watch TV", the default process includes turning off the disc player, for example. On the lower models, you can't eliminate that step. With the Elite, you can.
I could see where that would be useful. My lower model Harmony 650 doesn't do that, but then again it only costs about $40.

Glad you figured out your issue, Greg. It's pretty simple to do on the Harmony 650. In fact, I have my remote setup so each activity has the same "look and feel". For example, the upper left soft key is the open/close drawer command for each of my three disc players, the right two buttons are the "info" commands for my Vizio display and Denon AVR, etc.. The 650 has four soft keys, but allows for multiple pages. So, Page 2 for each activity is four buttons for changing the sound mode on my AVR.
 

greggor

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 6, 1999
Messages
410
Real Name
Greg
I could see where that would be useful. My lower model Harmony 650 doesn't do that, but then again it only costs about $40.

Glad you figured out your issue, Greg. It's pretty simple to do on the Harmony 650. In fact, I have my remote setup so each activity has the same "look and feel". For example, the upper left soft key is the open/close drawer command for each of my three disc players, the right two buttons are the "info" commands for my Vizio display and Denon AVR, etc.. The 650 has four soft keys, but allows for multiple pages. So, Page 2 for each activity is four buttons for changing the sound mode on my AVR.

I did the same thing on mine. In fact this thing is so user friendly even my wife and kids understand how to use it and that's saying a lot. I added the commands to the touch screen for each activity so they're familiar and easy to get too. You can even edit the name of each command which is very useful since some pre-named commands won't make sense to casual users My previous remote was a URC MX series and this is significantly more user friendly.
 

xx Brian xx

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
228
Real Name
Brian
I want to say that mine already did this on it's own when I created the different activities and that surprised me. For example if I switch between two activities which require my projector to remain on it already seems to recognize that my projector is on and only switches the two video source components and places my AVR on the correct input. It knows to turn off the video source I'm no longer using.

Harmony remotes do not know if anything is on or off, it only knows the last command it sent to each device and then assumes it is still in that state. Remotes like Control4 and Savant use two way communication and do know when you manually turn something on or off.
Harmony normally use a devices generic power command instead of discrete on or off commands. You can go in and change this.

The advantage to using specific on and off discrete commands is that if you manually turn on a device, say a blurry player, and then you press Watch Movie on the Harmony. Normally the Harmony will send a power command which will now cycle off the bluray. With discrete commands, the Harmony will only send the On command and since the bluray is already on, nothing will happen, the bluray will remain on.

Harmonys are great remotes and can do way more than most people think.

Brian
 

greggor

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 6, 1999
Messages
410
Real Name
Greg
Thanks for the explanation Brian. That makes perfect sense.

I was at BB a few months ago taking a look at the Magnolia gear. The rep was kind enough to spend about an hour letting me audition some nice equipment I had no intention of purchasing. We started talking home theater control and with out me mentioning that I use a harmony he proceeded to bash the Harmony remotes. I know the pro's prefer the URC remotes because it guarantee's them future service calls when something isn't working correctly or when a component is added or changed. But, I was surprised with the lack of respect the harmony remotes get and if I were there to purchase something his attitude would have cost hi a sale.

I use to own a URC and for years it did everything I needed it too. I was lucky enough to have the programming software and know how to use it but I would still take my Harmony over my URC.
 

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Supporter
Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
14,562
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
I have a Harmony 950 and an Elite, and I can definitely attest that when it has discrete on and off commands in its database, it uses them, rather than the toggle. So, my experience with these current remotes and my current equipment is the opposite of what Brian stated. Keep in mind that not all equipment has discrete on and off commands, so that doesn't apply to everything.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
347,203
Messages
4,805,760
Members
142,028
Latest member
atalba
Top