A question about HD Discovery Clear Logo on DISH

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by RAF, Jul 1, 2002.

  1. RAF

    RAF Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A quick question regarding the HD Discovery clear logo that appears from time to time on the lower right corner of the screen.

    I notice that when this appears (I hate these things!) that I don't see all the lettering. In other words, instead of something like "HD Discovery" it's more like "HD Discov" - the right side is cut off. I'm wondering if this is a problem with the transmission or with my set? Incidentally, I'm using a SONY VW10HT 16:9 set with my Dish 6000 player and have always seen correct aspect ratios before from all sources (unless the source was faulty.)

    How's this clear HD Logo look to the rest of you with either my set or your own HDTV set? Yes, the aspect ratio is set correctly on my projector - in fact for HDTV sources it's automatic as long as the information it receives is correct. I'm wondering if this has something to do with the fact that DISH is using their HD Demo Channel for the Discovery Preview and the actual station will be using the 8PSK module for the 6000 to squeeze more channels into each transponder.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Adil M

    Adil M Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same issue here. At first I suspected it was the overscan, but I now believe it's waht you mentioned above, that Discovery is using the Dish Demo channel. I believe it's screwed up in the signal.
     
  3. RAF

    RAF Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, there's too much logo information off the screen to be overscan, especially since I've never noticed overscan on my projector before when sources are accurate.

    Let's see what happens when I can finally get my 8PSK unit and view the HD Discovery Theater channel at its "regular" location. (Module not available via DISH for at least another week + shipping time).

    But doesn't the HD Discovery signal look great?
     
  4. Phil Nichols

    Phil Nichols Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bob,

    I assume you are wondering about "too much logo off the screen" because you are concerned about some of the right side of the image being chopped off earlier in the source chain before your system?

    As for me ........ the logo completely off the screen is my preference and 1/2 off is a good start!! I hate those logos - get rid of em'.

    BTW, don't the FCC rules only require stations/channels to ID themselves only every so often? What's with a logo being continously displayed anyway? A mystery to me.
     
  5. RAF

    RAF Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I agree that the permanent logo on the screen is a bit of a PITA. The only possible use if if you are surfing in an unfamiliar surrounding (like a hotel room) and want a quick idea of what channel you are watching.)

    At least the HD Discovery Logo (complete or incomplete) is not on the screen all the time.
     
  6. jeff peterson

    jeff peterson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1998
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think they do it so if a bootleg copy of a program turns up, the logo displays on the copy and everyone knows it's a boot.
     
  7. Kevin Coleman

    Kevin Coleman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use an ECP 4500 with my dish 6000 on a 92" screen I have about 1.750 inches between the end of the logo and the right hand end of my screen.
    Kevin C. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page