a question about "decorating" a sub/speaker enclosure...

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Anthony*B, Jan 2, 2004.

1. Anthony*B

Anthony*B Stunt Coordinator

what are the "should" & "should nots" of decorating DIY speaker/sub cabinets?is it ok to pretty much do anything to your cabinet as long as it is securely fastened/glued?i say this because i'm an artist/graphics guy and will one day be building my own setup, but i really wanna take it past the stained/rounded edge cube wood designs (beautiful though they may be)...does adding/subtracting wood/mdf fromt an enclosure change or hurt it's sonic charecteristics? i am not really talking about doing speakers or subs in "weird" enclosures, more like taking a standard box enclosure and doing some interesting things like adding trim or carving art into the MDF etc...

2. Bob K

Bob K Stunt Coordinator

Anthony,

So long as you start with a solid enclosure (I'd strongly suggest MDF or void-free plywood rather than "real" wood for the basic structure), go to town! Just make sure that any added trim, carving, etc. is firmly attached.

When you're done, post pictures!

3. Anthony*B

Anthony*B Stunt Coordinator