A question about computer networking

Robert Ringwald

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
2,641
I know that many computers in one household can be networked to share the same internet feed.

We have a cable modem, and I was wondering if I were to network the computer in our living room to the one I'm getting next week (which will be in my room), would we be able to view different web sites at the same time if people were using both computers?

My brother says that they would both have the same pages if we were both on-line.

Can someone shine a little light here?
 

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 4, 1999
Messages
11,267
Yes they can, but you need to pick up a router

Just go to any store, they have ones marked as Cable/DSL Sharing Routers or something like that
 

Travis Olson

Supporting Actor
Joined
Oct 7, 2001
Messages
940
Real Name
Travis Olson
We have a cable modem, and I was wondering if I were to network the computer in our living room to the one I'm getting next week (which will be in my room), would we be able to view different web sites at the same time if people were using both computers?

My brother says that they would both have the same pages if we were both on-line.
Yes you can. In fact, I think your brother is confusing it with DirecTV. With a broadband router, your computers essentially share the same internet connection and operate independently.
 

Robert Ringwald

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
2,641
I knew it.

Thanks a lot you guys. I did a little checking online and figured out that I can pick up a router for a very little price, and even found some detailed instructions as to how to hook everything up.
 

Chris Bardon

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2000
Messages
2,059
Those routers are pretty expensive though-there's a much cheaper way to do it. I've used a program called GnatBox (www.gta.com), which is a free firewall program for a couple of years now. Basically, I have it running from a floppy on a 486-100 with 2 netowrk cards. Plug modem into network card 1, plug network card 2 into hub, plug other computers into hub, use 486 as gateway. The cable/dsl routers that encapsulate all of this go for around $200, but I put together all of this for less than $75 (including cable).
If money isn't an object though-the routers you can buy are essentially this same setup, just in one box.
 

Robert Ma

Second Unit
Joined
Jun 18, 2001
Messages
368
Go the router route

Seriously, you should be able to pick up a cable/dsl router for $75 - $100. Well worth it. You don't want to deal with a software solution if you don't have to. If the main computer is used for other things then being a "Proxy" server, you don't want to deal with it.
Also, there are wireless routers for about $175. Thats the way I went. I have a SMC Barricade and love it. I feed my cable modem to the WAN link and connect a pc with a wireless USB adapter. I also connect my laptop with with a wireless PCMCIA adapter.
 

MikeyWeitz

Supporting Actor
Joined
Feb 10, 2002
Messages
939
Router for $200, not in YRS (for a home based one anyway). You can pick up a wired based Linksys router for $50-60 shipped now if you shop around. MUCH easier to deal with then a dedicated box, less power consumption as well. The 2 (or how ever many computers are hooked up to it) will operate on the internet completely independant of one another. Most home based routers are plug and play and require little if any effort to set up.
 

Robert Ringwald

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
2,641
Can anyone recommend a good router? Maybe one that's easy to work and set-up. Does anyone have a pretty good one that they know from experience would be a good choice?
 

Rob Behm

Grip
Joined
Jan 16, 1999
Messages
15
Highly recommend Linksys BEFSR41. It goes for around $70. Linksys is very good about coming out with firmware updates as needed. Plus, it is nice not having to leave a computer on all the time.
 

Rob Speicher

Supporting Actor
Joined
Nov 24, 2000
Messages
935
I've disliked Linksys routers ever since one died on me 2 days after I bought it. Sent it back for a Netgear (RO318) that has worked flawlessly for almost 8 months.
 

SteveBjr

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Aug 7, 2001
Messages
196
I use a D-Link DI707 router...i've never had a problem with it and it's very simple to hook up.
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
345,533
Messages
4,744,610
Members
141,475
Latest member
Macoco