A pleasant surprise with Comcast Digital Cable

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Joe Casey, Feb 23, 2002.

  1. Joe Casey

    Joe Casey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 1999
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Who woulda thunk??
    So who else knew these guys actually send a DD5.1 bitstream? After calling customer service to ask about whether the digital audio out jack on the back of the Explorer 2100 does anything, and getting silence on the other end of the line, I hooked it up to my processor and here's what I got:
    -All digital channels over 100 are DD2.0
    -All premium channels over 300 are either DD2.0 or DD5.1
    -All music channels over 400 are 16 bit 48 kHz PCM
    Man am I happy [​IMG] .
     
  2. Jeremy Anderson

    Jeremy Anderson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 1999
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dammit! My Comcast digital cable has no jack where it says DIGITAL OUT. Maybe I can call them and see about a replacement or something...
     
  3. Robert Cranwell

    Robert Cranwell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joe, What system do you live in ? If you e-mail me I can get you a better breakdown on the digital.
    [email protected] There are some tweaks internally on a menu, plus I have a monthly break-down of what is in 5.1 from each service. HBO,Showtime,etc..
    Rob
     
  4. Jay Sylvester

    Jay Sylvester Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn you're lucky. I also have Comcast, and my box doesn't even have S-video out, let alone a digital output.
     
  5. Robert Cranwell

    Robert Cranwell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jay, ask for one or I will get you one.

    Rob..
     
  6. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any advice for poor old me in Washington, DC? The digital picture looks pretty good for cable, but I want digital sound--BAD!

    I have called customer service and sent several emails, but I have never received a knowledgeable answer.

    -Chris
     
  7. ChrisB

    ChrisB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What about Michigan? The cable box says "Dolby Digital" but there is no S video out, no optical or digital coax out, what a rip off. I am paying 94 dollars a month for this so called "Digital Cable". I will say though the broadband internet is awsome, I am the only person on my node, plus I souped up my settings so I am getting super fast downloads. Anybody know when Michigan will get out of the stone age, I read about all of these other Comsast customers with real digital boxs paying the same thing I am paying. What if I were to buy a diffrent box would it work?
     
  8. Jay Sylvester

    Jay Sylvester Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  9. shankar

    shankar Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    chrisB,

    So,the siyuation is still the same after 2-3 years, eh?. I had mediaone "digital" cable. No S-video even. When dish came up with the free install option, I took it and have never even thought about cable again. Now that it's Comcast, I thoght that things may have improved, but not really it seems like.

    IMHO, cable will never beat satellite TV (at least Dish network) in quantity/quality.

    BTW, I also have comcast high speed internet. You said that ypu have souped up your setting to get lightning fast downloads. Would you tell me how?

    Thanks.
     
  10. Robert Cranwell

    Robert Cranwell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    See my other post under Digital Cable Box and I explain the hows and why's on how to get the features you want.

    Rob
     
  11. Scotty Parish

    Joined:
    May 16, 1999
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, Comcast Digital, here in Little Rock doesn't support DD5.1. My box has the optical connection, but the system does not send the signal. I've had their digital service for over two years. These people, at least locally, are clueless.
     

Share This Page