What's new

A little help setting up my BFD? (1 Viewer)

Hey guys, I’m looking for a little help in making sure that my BFD is set up right. I’ve read the manual, the excellent snapbug web site, and several threads no this forum. I like to think that I’m a reasonably tech-savvy guy, but it seems like I might be missing something obvious.

After measuring my room response I found the usual dips and humps in frequency response. I downloaded one of the spreadsheet utilities for simulating the response after applying filters and put those into the BFD on channel 4 (I did check and make sure that all the filters on channel 4 are set to PA). I pressed the store button twice to save all my settings and everything seemed as it should be. However, when I re-tested the frequency response, nothing had changed - all the same peaks and dips were still there. I realize that the spreadsheet predections probably won’t be completely accurate, but it seems like putting all the filters in should at least change something.

When re-testing, the In/Out light and the Engine L and Engine R lights are all lit green. Other lights are all out. Any thoughts? Am I doing something completely wrong? I’ll probably try setting up another channel with a single filter with a 20-30 dB drop at 40 Hz just to see if I measure a change, but Ithought I’d post here for advice as well.

-Kevin

P.S. On another note – I’ve read how much subwoofer placement can affect your frequency response, but I was surprised by just how much. I had two 25 dB dips (70Hz and 80Hz) that were ameliorated simply by moving the sub 6 inches or so. Amazing.

ChuckRG

Agent
You can actually test this in real time. Run a signal thru the BFD set up any kind of filter (PA) and then change the gain and see if you hear any difference.

If you set up multiple filters then that many lights should be lit in the horizontal row of lights for that channel. If not, then something else is incorrect.