A little connection help please...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike___Walker, Jan 16, 2002.

1. Mike___Walker

I'm new to this forum, and I feel new to HT. I'm just now making the move to digital. I guess this is the perfect place to start. I just purchased an Onkyo TX-DS696 receiver, a Panasonic DVD-RV31k DVD player & the Energy Encore speaker package. Since I'm new to digital, I could use a little push in the right direction for hooking everything up. I already had a Sony SLV-798HF VCR & a Sony KV-27V45 TV. The VCR has analog only audio out from what I can tell. What do you recommend for audio connections, and should I run S-Video from the VCR & DVD to the receiver to the TV? The following links show pics of the backs of the DVD player & the receiver:
    Back of DVD
    Back of Receiver

2. Chauncey_G

Chauncey_G Second Unit

Hi, Mike! Welcome. I think you'll find this site to be a very useful one. Lots of people around here know lots of stuff. I don't pretend to be one, but I hope I can help.

As far as hooking up audio from the VCR. If you're asking about where to plug what, just hook the Left- and Right-out channels to the Video 1 Audio Ins and that'll do it. Don't worry about the whole digital sound thing with the VCR. It's an analog source (tape), so that's all you have to play with.

As far as the video: I'm unfamiliar with your VCR. If it does have S-Video, then by all means hook it into the Video 1 In and your DVD's S-Video to it's respective Video In, then from your Monitor Out S-Video to the S-Video In on your TV.