What's new

Robert Harris

Archivist
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert Harris
Fans of the Star Trek series should be thrilled with Paramount's release of the first four film, remastered in 4k.

Fans of 4k may be a bit less enthused, as with the exception of a few sequences in IV, there really isn't that much in 4k resolution. And the fact that the first is in 4k, shows the deficiencies in 1979 era special effects, which appear less cohesive than in lower resolved media.

That aside, color and densities seem nicely done - I'm not an expert on the series - and the audio, possibly in 7.1 helps to create a larger overall aura.

The set is packaged with a spare set of Blu-rays for anyone who may desire extras.

To be clear, regarding 4k, I'm not suggesting that the films in that resolution are a waste, but rather that the third and fourth titles probably peak at 2.5 or 3k, and the first two less.

But fans will know that they're getting everything that's on the film element, and one can't ask for more than that.

I find one thing bit confusing. While the set is comprised of eight discs (both 4k as well as Blu-ray) of the first four films, why not leave out the Blu-ray variant, and make a complete set of the early series, and include the final three with Mr. Shatner (1989 - 1994), for a total of seven films?

Image – 5

Audio – 5 (Dolby Something)

Pass / Fail – Pass

Plays nicely with projectors - yes

Makes use of and works well in 4k - 2.5

Recommended

RAH

Last edited:

Josh Steinberg

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Josh Steinberg
I was under the impression that audio was Dolby TrueHD 7.1 - the initial press release mistakenly reported Atmos and was then corrected.

This is a big release for Trek fans because the prior release on Blu-ray in 2009 wasn’t even up to 2009 standards. They were based primarily on HD scans made circa 2003 for cable broadcasts and DVD and were riddled with DNR, other digital artifacting and instability in the frame.