1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

A few words about...™ HDR and the new Panasonic 9000 -- in 4k UHD Blu-ray

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Robert Harris, Apr 27, 2019.

  1. Tino

    Tino Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 1999
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    7,955
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Metro NYC
    Real Name:
    Valentino
    My receiver definitely decides Atmos. I have a 5.2.1 setup. 7 speakers and a subwoofer.

    Not sure what you mean by “Atmos” speakers.
     
  2. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    8,219
    Likes Received:
    4,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    I mean Atmos front heights, rear heights, etc. My Yamaha receiver does not decode to Atmos unless I have some form of Atmos speaker configuration connected to the correct speaker outputs on it. Your 5.2.1 setup should be fine in this respect. It's not a function of the 820, which is simply sending digital data to your receiver if the player is set to Bitstream.
     
    PMF and DaveF like this.
  3. Tino

    Tino Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 1999
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    7,955
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Metro NYC
    Real Name:
    Valentino
    Sorry you lost me a bit.

    So have I set something to the wrong setting?
     
  4. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    8,219
    Likes Received:
    4,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    I'm not sure Tino. Was your previous setup decoding Atmos correctly?
     
  5. Mark McSherry

    Mark McSherry Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    Mark McSherry
    I would say everything is working fine with your setup--- unless you aren't getting anything out of your height speakers.

    But just to be sure, I stuck THE MARTIAN UHD in my UB820, and played it with audio set for Dolby Atmos.
    My receiver reads Dolby Atmos. And pushing the PLAYBACK INFO button on UB820 remote displays audio as TRUEHD.
    And I'm definitely getting sound out of my four ceiling speakers.

    The UB820 is outputting the TrueHD bitstream to the receiver, and the receiver is decoding the Dolby Atmos from the TrueHD.
     
  6. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    8,219
    Likes Received:
    4,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    Yep, Atmos is basically Dolby TrueHD with extra bits. However, on Yamaha receivers, if the display is showing TrueHD for an Atmos track, you're not getting Atmos, you're getting TrueHD.

    TIno, have you tried setting audio on your Yamaha to Direct?
     
    PMF likes this.
  7. Tino

    Tino Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 1999
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    7,955
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Metro NYC
    Real Name:
    Valentino
    Yes. I guess I’ll just trust my receiver.
     
  8. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    8,219
    Likes Received:
    4,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    I would try putting it in Direct mode to make sure it's not doing anything funky to the incoming audio bitstream.
     
    PMF likes this.
  9. Matt Hough

    Matt Hough Director
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    20,811
    Likes Received:
    10,304
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Real Name:
    Matt Hough
    No player identifies an Atmos track as DOlby Atmos. They identify it as DOlby TrueHD because that's what Atmos is: DOlby TrueHD with added coding for those with Atmos configurations in receiver/speakers (as Doug correctly said). The receiver rightly tells you what it's decoding: trust what it says.
     
    PMF and Tino like this.
  10. Tino

    Tino Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 1999
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    7,955
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Metro NYC
    Real Name:
    Valentino
    Thanks for the help guys. Sorry for derailing this UB 9000 thread a bit. :)
     
  11. Bryan^H

    Bryan^H Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    3,400
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    I'm surprised more people don't talk about this. It worked on my UB900, and now my 9000. It is fantastic. So far it has worked on every region "B" BD I have thrown at it, I have not tried any region locked DVD titles though.
     
    PMF and dpippel like this.
  12. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    8,219
    Likes Received:
    4,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    Just tried this on my 820 with the Region B Studio Canal release of Quatermass and the Pit. No bueno.
     
  13. Tino

    Tino Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 1999
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    7,955
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Metro NYC
    Real Name:
    Valentino
    Man. Haven’t serious lip sync issues with the 820. Is there any way to adjust while viewing the film?
     
  14. Tino

    Tino Executive Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 1999
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    7,955
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Metro NYC
    Real Name:
    Valentino
    By the way I would ask these questions in an 820 thread but I can’t find one. Mods let me know if I shouldn’t be asking these questions here.
     
  15. Bryan^H

    Bryan^H Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    3,400
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Weird! All the Studio Canal Region B titles I have tried worked perfectly. I thought the 820 was basically the same player as the 9000-minus the analog features. I just tried it on "Escape from New York", and The Fog.

    I get the message saying it won't play, hit stop, and then press "top menu", and loads up fine!
     
    PMF likes this.
  16. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    8,219
    Likes Received:
    4,956
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    I also tried the latest Region B release of The Thing, and it worked with that title. Apparently Studio Canal authoring is immune.
     
  17. Message #97 of 243 May 4, 2019
    Last edited: May 4, 2019
    Mark McSherry

    Mark McSherry Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    Mark McSherry
    I tried the recent Region B bluray release of the Peter O'Toole ROGUE MALE on my UB820.

    The TV screen appeared saying the bluray is Region B and would not play. Pressed STOP on the remote and the TV screen went to the screen-saver where there is a white crescent shape at the bottom and, in large letters, "Ultra UHD Bluray" on the middle-right side. Pressed TOP MENU once and the message "...operation not available..." appeared. Pressed TOP MENU again and the disc loaded and played fine.

    BUT pressing the STOP button was a bit flaky. Sometimes I would go immediately to the next screen, and sometimes not. But, being patient, and repressing the STOP several times, would eventually get you to next step. In my case, never longer than 30 seconds. Maybe because of the cheaper remote compared to the UB9000's??? ;)

    The British Film Institute's ROGUE MALE also includes a Region 2 DVD. Could not get that to play on the UB820.
     
  18. YANG

    YANG Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 1999
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    610
    I don't think it got anything to do with the remote control build, but rather the firmware that's either up to date, or embedded by default when shipped in different region.
     
  19. YANG

    YANG Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 1999
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    610
    IMO , there should be a subsection in the playing device forum having thread discussions on different makes like videohelp.com
    HTF is a pool where majority of the members are physical discs supporters, buyers n collectors.

    However, since majority of the movies discussed here are Hollywood produce, studios big or small with selfish business ambitions will tend to visit here frequent, seeing regional "skip" discussions becomes a big no-no to their eyes...
     
    Philip Verdieck likes this.
  20. YANG

    YANG Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 1999
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    610
    Does majority of BDPlayer buyers knows abt Oppo existence? I won't be surprised that there's a percentage of consumers out there doesn't know abt it except knowing "it's not an international brand".

    Affectionados will put their focus on what the device can do, and how they can benefit from the features, build quality usually secondary, pricing usually third. However to general consumers , it's another way round...

    On the movie option, majority of u.s. consumers would not be concerned abt options as Hollywood produce conquer the world cinemas by a big percentage, follows by its penetration into smaller household. Hence the demand and need for other region movie play is much lesser and usually in small niche groups.
     

Share This Page