A few questions to get me started

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott Basham, Oct 31, 2001.

1. Scott Basham

Scott Basham Stunt Coordinator

Hi guys (and gals), this is my first time posting so I'll try to keep it as brief as possible (in a relative type of way)
    I'm looking to have both a home theater system and standard day time TV room all wrapped into one.
    Here's my HT bio :
    I've just purchased a Yamaha RX-V1000 which handles DTS + ES, Digital 6.1 and so forth. Along with it, I bought a Yamaha 6280 DVD changer (component out, but non-progressive scan) to feed the receiver and TV. For sound, I have Klipsch RF-3 II front speakers with a Bose 6.2 center, Klipsch Quintet satellites for the rear and a mid-grade subwoofer handling the bass.
    I guess that my next item to upgrade is my 9 year old Hitachi 27" TV that doesn't even have SuperVHS.
    Due to a short, but wide room, the minimum viewing distance is only about 8ft from the screen of my current TV. Also, I have a really nice (my standards) oak entertainment center that holds everything now. The entertainment system has a 27"H x 31.5"W opening for a TV.
    I'm strictly a movie guy, but there are 2 others in my family (1 big, 1 little) that will use whatever TV we get for mostly cable broadcast (they are happy with the TV we have now as long a QVC and Spongebob come in).
    Questions begin here:
    How am I doing so far? Any wrong purchases?
    What would you recommend I do about a television? 4:3 or 16:9? Buy one that fits in the cabinet or chuck it all and start over? I'm looking for a bigger screen with the best quality that I can afford. Nothing over 2k and preferably a LOT less.