A few HTPC concerns for a possible buyer

Discussion in 'Computers' started by dubignon, Sep 20, 2005.

1. dubignon

dubignon Auditioning

Ok, I am planning on buying a new computer pretty soon and I am interested in a home theater pC. I am trying to figure out if this is the right solution for me.

I would like to use the pc as first and foremost a PC (spreadsheets, word documents, e-mail etc.) I would also like to be able to play my PC's music collection on my home theater set-up. I would like to be able to play my ripped dvd's from my collection on my home theater as well. Finally I would like to be able to use the PC as a PVR to play back on my home theater.

Let me first say that I am fairly new to the pc market as well as home theater and all of the new technologies. So I apologize if my questions are over-simplified. But, I am concerned about the quality of audio and video that would be played from my PC.

1. Does the graphics card determine the quality of video playback on both my monitor and my television? I have read that there are issues with windows media center and video quality.
    2. What types of connection options are there via sound cards? Will I be able to send 5.1 DTS or Dobly Digital sound to my receiver from the PC?
    3. Assuming there are no issues with video quality with a direct (wired) connection from my PC to TV, what about with the media center extenders (wireless) that I have heard about?

Thanks in advance for any help,
    Jason

2. rob-h

rob-h Second Unit