7 channel receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ray M Y, Jun 25, 2002.

1. Ray M Y

Ray M Y Auditioning

Hi everyone. I'm new to HT, but I'm interested in getting 7.1 system. What receiver should I get? I don't have an exact budget, but I don't want anything too expensive. I've heard of brands like Onkyo, Denon, HK, Pioneer... etc. I don't think I want to jump right into having a separate amplifier just yet... so I need the receiver to directly power my speakers (hopefully Axiom M3's). The HK AVR8000 looks really nice with the logic 7, but it only has 5 channels of amplification [​IMG] ... how does it compare with the Pioneer VSX-47TX, Onkyo TXDS-898, and others?
    Ray

2. ricky ho

ricky ho Stunt Coordinator

"but I don't want anything too expensive".
    take a look at the denon 3802. it has 7 channels of amplification and pre-outs for 7.1. it has a wide screen mode that takes advantage of 7.1 using dolby pro logic,dd,dts 5.1-channel signals.
    i'm using this receiver as a pre-pro with 7 monoblocks and i'm quite impressed with the wide screen mode.
    good luck

3. Earl Simpson

Earl Simpson Supporting Actor

3802, 898!!! Depends on your budget. Both are great rcvrs with very few DOA's and defects. UBID has got JBL 28's for $19 plus $24 freight. These are excellent little bookshelf speakers that easily sell for $100 each. If you have space limitations the AR 2062 can be had for $19($100 retail)(outstanding small speaker). Then all you would need is a quality sub.
    The HK 520 is about as low as I would go for a 5.1 rcvr.
    3802=$800 from a real dealer
    898= $1100
    Good luck! There are a lot of fine people on this forum that will help you out! Not a bad one in the bunch.[​IMG]

4. Eric_Lakes

Eric_Lakes Agent

Ray,