600-ish watts, 4 ohm, under $300?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chad_A, Jul 27, 2002.

1. Chad_A

Chad_A Auditioning

Is there an amp that fits around here? I was going to go with a QSC rmx850 but decided to keep looking for something that has an xover and perhaps not quite as much power.

ANy Help?

2. Jim J

Jim J Second Unit

Have you seen the Crown XLS402?

I think it is 400 into 4ohm x2. It has highpass @15 and 30 (or none). that is $300

the XLS602 gives you 600 watts but it is $500

remember, you'll only get 1.5dBs going from 400 to 600 watts

good luck

3. Shawn Solar

Shawn Solar Supporting Actor

Check the hardware section. Saw cinepro amp for $375

4. Chad_A

Chad_A Auditioning

Hmm, $375 is pushing it honestly. I'm a poor college student and I'm raising the cash for the amp by actually selling my car amplifier.

The problem is that the driver isn't exactly the most efficient out there, fits the typical high excursion catagory (20+mm linear xmax). That and the fact the port seems to be 88" long, and I can't afford PR's so it'll be sealed.

And whatever the amp is it must be bridgable seeing as it's a dvc 2/2.

I'll take a look into the Crown, thanks.

OH, and of course the other option is to just fabricate my own crossover, but I'm not exactly sure of any electronic stores that carry components with extremly small tolerance levels.

5. Shawn Solar

What sub driver are you using specifically? And in what alignment? I have a blueprint 1503 in a 160l sonotube tuned with a 6" flared port 28" long which gives a final tuning of 20hz. Your best bet is to pick up an amp used. I got my amp used for $350 and it is 1200watts.

6. Chad_A

Chad_A Auditioning

Resonant Engineering 12hc is the specific driver.