51HW40 vs 555819 vs 50hx81 and Questions

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff O., Dec 11, 2001.

1. Jeff O.

Jeff O. Stunt Coordinator

Hope you folks can help since I am new to big screens. I am considering buying one of these sets and would appreciate any comments/suggestions you folks might have. I also have some specific questions. I am currently leaning towards the Toshiba, so the following questions apply especially to the 50hx81.

1. For the moment, I will just be using DVD and standard Dish material. Any idea how this will look through S-video connection at around 8 feet? The reason I ask is that I am not sure if the internal line doubler works with the S-video input, or if it only works with the component (which the PVR501 doesn't have).

2. Also, can these sets store calibrations for individual sources on different inputs, i.e. can I calibrate one input for the DVD and one for Sat?

3. Finally, the best price on the Toshiba is at HH Gregg, a new chain in this area. Anyone ever dealt with them?

Thanks for any help,

Jeff

2. JohnHN

JohnHN Stunt Coordinator

I can speak only for the Toshiba. I have a 50HX81.

I watch at 8ft so I can tell you that DVD looks great at 8ft. It even looks great at 7ft but that may be too close for other reasons (e.g. your wife will tell you that you look like an idiot sitting that close). You should connect DVD via component, for more accurate color. Connect directly, if possible, rather than via the receiver.

The set deinterlaces EVERYTHING except 480p and 1080i. Whether the signal comes in via component, s-video, composite doesn't matter. This is standard in such sets.

You can set color etc separately for the component inputs vs. the composite/s-video inputs. But I believe that you have only one setting on the s-video inputs. That is, as I recall, if you adjust one s-video you end up changing the other one, too.

3. Jeff O.

John,