5.1 on Cable TV...?

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by MikeGee, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. MikeGee

    MikeGee Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just wondering the best way to get my Pioneer 1014tx to run in surround sound for 5.1 broadcasts/shows. Right now i have my cable plugged into my VCR and the red/white rca's go from the vcr to the 1014tx.
    Do i have to get some sort of a digital feed instead of just using the RCA's?
     
  2. jason_l_h

    jason_l_h Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as I know, the 5.1 audio needs to be carried to your receiver via digital interconnect (coax or optical).
     
  3. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15


    You would need a cable box that is capable of passing a digital audio signal. There is no way to get DD 5.1 with the cable hooked up to the VCR, it requires the cable box. Also, it usually requires a subscription to digital cable. NOTE: You are not missing much. Aside from a few movies on the pay channels and/or certain digital channels, most non-HD cable is broadcast in Pro-Logic only.
     
  4. Michael.M.C

    Michael.M.C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    CSI seems to be 5.1, if not, it sure does sound like it when it goes through my system.

    (component cable direct to a HK receiver)
     
  5. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15


    5.1 is only available from a cable box through a digital audio connection. If you are connected by a normal red/white audio pair, you are getting Pro-Logic (maybe Pro-Logic II) at most. It is still surround sound, but not near as good as true DD 5.1.
     

Share This Page