What's new

5.1 in-ceiling recommendations for the following setup.. (1 Viewer)

phiakes

Auditioning
Real Name
Rick Struve
Hello,
First of all had an opportunity to peruse the forum and will say firstly I appreciate any expertise the members are willing to offer!
Here's what I have:
  • Receiver: Pioneer VSX-821-K
  • Prewired 5 in-ceiling connections and one for Sub located in the rear of living room (I believe the wiring for sub is LFE (co-axial in appearance)).
What can you recommend for a LOW budget for BOTH speakers and Sub for $450.
What can you recommend for a HIGH budget for BOTH speakers and Sub for $650.
The Receiver Cost me $171 (US Dollars). Is my pricing reasonable to get a decent quality sound for the current components that I have? If not, willing to hear whatever suggestions you may have. I'm a novice when it comes to speaker/home theater equipment.

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
That's low and lower. Check out the in-ceiling speakers from Dayton (at Parts Express) and the ones at Monoprice. Sub, Dayton or a BIC.
We never recommend in-ceiling speakers for mains. Other than them being pre-wired, is there any reason you are using them over in-wall or better yet, conventional speakers?

phiakes

Auditioning
Real Name
Rick Struve
You're correct I'd just prefer to go with what I already have going; the wire is hidden and already run to the correct spots. For example what about these things, Theater Kit of 5 Ceiling Speakers M65.1C... ofcourse it won't appeal to your more discerning/acute ear, are these things garbage or are they okay/not bad, etc. I'm not trying to get top end sound at rock bottom prices, but I would like to get something that's "decent" in quality relative to price points. I could probably go another $100 for speaker/sub to say $750 total (US) if you think that helps.
I'll look at your suggestions thank you for the advice.

phiakes

Auditioning
Real Name
Rick Struve