1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

5.1.4 ATMOS Speaker setup - B&W CM8 S2, CCM662, CCM684

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by valentins, Dec 2, 2017.

1. valentins

valentins Auditioning

Valentins Mucenieks
    Newbie here..

Currently working on a 5.1.4 ATMOS setup and would appreciate any comments/suggestions regarding the speaker choice and placement.

Working with:
    Yamaha RX-A3060
    Sub - BK P12-300SB-DF
    Fronts - B&W CM8 S2

Centre - B&W CCM 7.4
    Rear Surrounds - 2 x B&W CCM662
    Atmos- 4 x B&W CCM684

Only fronts and sub will be floor standing. The rest have to be ceiling mounted.

Is the ceiling mounted speaker placement optimal for this layout?
    Many thanks for any comments.

Attached Files:

2. Todd Erwin

Todd Erwin Producer
    Reviewer

Todd Erwin
  3. Bob Bielski

Bob Bielski Second Unit

Robert Bielski
    I got 2 really good links on another forum.
    It is alot more informative then the Dolby website.
    https://www.dolby.com/us/en/technologies/dolby-atmos/dolby-atmos-home-theater-installation-guidelines.pdf
    https://www.dolby.com/us/en/technologies/dolby-atmos/dolby-atmos-specifications.pdf
    Check them both out, I found them to be very informative and full of real info on bandwith.
    I tried to get info from the website and never got an answer. From what I now understand ALL the speakers should be the same. Hope this helps.
    At least the same brand and sonic characteristics, and timbre.
    I have 5 the same and the height speakers are smaller, I didn't realize the height had full range signals. I really heard a large improvement when I put my center channel tweeter and midrange at the same exact height as my fronts and surrounds.
    I am using 5.1.4 right now.