4805 and HDTV

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Paul-D, Oct 7, 2004.

  1. Paul-D

    Paul-D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am looking at purchasing the InFocus SP4805 and upgrading my cable to HDTV. Please give me any advice on what I need, as far as cables, to hook this up for HD.

    Thanks in advance,
    Paul
     
  2. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,759
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Depends on your cable box, but the least expense for quality would be to go with component cables. If the box has DVI that would be an improvement in PQ and signal but also mean shelling out 35.00 to 45.00 dollars for an M1 to DVI cable. If the box doesn't have DVI then that makes it easy. Component is all you need, but then probably a component switcher down the road to include your DVD player, game console, etc.
     
  3. Paul-D

    Paul-D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the input. Here's the rest of the situation. I want to hook up HDTV box (has DVI output), XBox, and VCR to this pj. I'm guessing my best bet is to do HD box DVI to M1, xbox and dvd as component, and vcr as composite?

    Would this be the best situation?



    Thanks again
     
  4. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,759
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    That's what I would do, but of course you'd need a switcher for the XBox and DVD player feeding into component. If you wanted you could fill up all the available video jacks on the 4805 and connect either the XBox or DVD player with S-Video.
     
  5. Paul-D

    Paul-D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could I do HDTV with the M1 connection, DVD to component, XBox to S-Video, and vcr to composite? That would seem to be 4 connections, I thought the 4805 only has 3?



    Thanks
     
  6. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,759
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    For video the 4805 has M1 (or computer), component, s-video and composite. On the top panel you have buttons for Computer and Video. The Video button basically cycles through component, s-video and composite. Computer is only the M1 jack.

    http://www.tvauthority.com/itemimages/SP4805_Back.jpg
     
  7. Paul-D

    Paul-D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to that picture is appears there is 3 inputs, labeled 1, 2, 3. The only problem is that the M1 AND AND component are both labeled 1. The svideo is 2 and composite is 3. My next question is, can you have something hooked up to both M1 and component at the same time?
     
  8. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,759
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Yep. That's how I have mine. My Bravo D1 DVD player is connected to the M1; XBox and HD Tuner to the component (via component switcher). I know it's confusing how the sources are labeled, but essentially every video source is discrete (i.e. one source does not override the other).
     
  9. Paul-D

    Paul-D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's awesome!! How does HD look on this unit? Do you have any pics of your system, or a website. The more I can learn about this pj the better.



    Thank you
     
  10. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HD looks grrrreat! Even though the native res is the same as DVD I played some HD clips I have on my htpc via DVI and it look spectacular, better than DVD with FFDSHOW processing.

    edit- here's a pic. No doctoring of colors or levels, just resized and cropped. Original is more detailed.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,759
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
  12. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,759
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
  13. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cameron nice pics but you're relying on the Bravo's internal scaler. DVDs do look nicer when upscaled on a HTPC at 1440x960 on just about any display.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,759
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Well, that's the best I got! I'm aware of the HTPC advantage; I'm just not in a position financially or motivationally to go that route.
     

Share This Page