360 surround vsx-d812 help

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Leonard_M, May 7, 2006.

  1. Leonard_M

    Leonard_M Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im not sure if this is the right place for this but it seemed the closed fitting.
    Im trying to hook my xbox 360 to my receiver and have it play to 4.1 but im having some problems i have a pioneer vsx-d812 receiver.. here is how i have things set up.. i have my 360's audio and video cables running to my receiver to the dvd/ld(Right/left inputs) and to the video to the dvd in.. from there i have my 4 speakrs set up to the front(l/r) and surround(l/r) i can hear the audio out the the front speakers but not the surround..(i tried changeing speakers to make sure they work and same thing)... i also have the receiver set to 4.1 in the menu for speakers... i have the videoout coming from the receivers monitor out using a coax video cable to a converter box and then from there a standard cable to my TV but i get no picture.. if i hook the xbox video to the converter box it shows fine jsut not when i run it to the receiver.. also i cant for the life of me get the surround to work.. i even tried hookin the dvd video to the coax(dvd input) .. ive never been able to get this to work even with a regular dvd player...any help would be great on this.
     
  2. EricW

    EricW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    are you using analog audio cables? shouldn't you be using a digital audio cable?
    that said, you should be getting ~some~ surround even with analog - if the 360 doesn't support 4.1, at the very least a DVD player should.
    i have a pioneer vsxd811s.
     
  3. Leonard_M

    Leonard_M Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah i have the HD av cable that comes with the 360 its supposed to work for surround sound.. even with a dvd player i get no surround.. i followed the receivers book to a Tee and even tried a few other things and i cant get the surround sound.
     
  4. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Leonard_M

    Leonard_M Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    JeremyErwin thanks im gonan go give this a try hopefully it works.. im guessing not as i was never able to get it to use surround even with a dvd player but here goes [​IMG]
     
  6. Leonard_M

    Leonard_M Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah it was a no go .. i must be doing something wrong.. ir my receiver isnt working right.. im stumped.. ive tried everything i can possibly think of and i cant get the video to show when i run it through my receiver either.. i dont have the optical S/PDIF cable (is this a must have?) even if i dont get digital surround i should at least get sound through all the speakers with analog right? and even a picture?
     
  7. EricW

    EricW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what does the receiver's display say? does it acknowledge dodbly digital and ex etc? or does it just say 'dvd'?
     
  8. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The optical cable is pretty much a must. You could use dolby prologic ii or dts neo to simulate surround, but it's just not the same.

    It sounds as though you really should read your receiver's manual. Note that the VSX-812, has, in my opinion, a rather confusing back panel layout, so pay attention to the labels.
     
  9. Leonard_M

    Leonard_M Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i did read the manual everything it says i followed if u want i will scan the instructions and post them... i have the back panel set up exactily as showin the manual.. and i tried the receiver to auto detect.. analog, digital and stright set it.. and still nothing the only thing i dont have and didnt try is the optical..but i figured i should still beable to get sound out of everything with analog.. but im not able to.. i have a digital cam so i can take pics of how i have the back set as well
     
  10. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the manual, so scanning it in is not a problem.

    I gather you have a television, a DVD player, and a XBox 360. You also mention a "converter box". Is this a RF modulator?

    But a photoset showing how your cords are plugged in might be very helpful.

    Pressing the "STANDARD" button on your remote will cycle through the surround sound modes (dts neo, prologic, etc). You should then be able to hear some sound from the rear speakers.
     
  11. EricW

    EricW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you try doing a 'test signal' to see if there's even any sound coming out of the rear(s)?
     
  12. Leonard_M

    Leonard_M Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so here is a pic that i did this morn it was a rush job and my cam died after one pic so hope this works.. where i have the blue color is where my xbox runs in to the receiver.. the left and right audio and the video goes to there as well as my monitor out that runs to my converter(RF converter i have an older tv with just a standard cable hookup) the red is my front right and left speakers and the green is the rear speakers(i have them just sitting in front for now) i also tried hooking them to the purple square on the pic which says surround back.. but still nothing.. its exactly what it says to do in the manual in chapter 2 under the 5 minute guide.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yep. Use test tones to make sure that the sound is reproduced by every speaker.
    Does Dolby Prologic II not work?

    and, you'll still need that optical cable for Dolby Digital.

    For test tones, dig out a copy of Raiders, or Star Wars, (or, alas some other DVD that has it) and try running the THX optimizer audio program. Although the receiver can generate its own tones (press TEST TONE on the remote), the dvd player introduces complications of its own.
     
  14. Leonard_M

    Leonard_M Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i do have everything set up correct then?...im at work right now so i cant test it but i will when ig et home and post the results
     
  15. Leonard_M

    Leonard_M Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok so now were getting some where i changed the receiver to pro logic and neo 6 and im getting sound throug all speakers but its only showing sp>a so it seems as thought its only playing speaker A but its coming through them all.. and ifi try to change it to sp>ab which it normally is i takes off the pro logic and goes to just dvd on the screen and if i try to change it to pro logic or neo 6 again it jsut goes to sp>a again.. will this matter? if not then everything seems to be fine.. but when i go through test on the remote i get like L0.0 and r 0.0 i can change them but sincei dont no shit i dunno what my settings should be or anything any help on this?
     
  16. JeremyErwin

    JeremyErwin Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You shouldn't be using the B speakers. Your surrounds should not be connected to the B terminals. They should be connected to the A surround terminals. Pioneer provides the B speaker terminals for users who want to listen to music in multiple rooms, or outside. Both sets can be simultaneously active, but in such a case, Speaker set A reverts to stereo. After all, the receiver only has so many amplifier channels.

    Use of the test tones is described on pages 51-53. The levels for each individual speaker can, and should be adjusted so that the speakers sound equally loud. This can be done by ear, but it's better to use a SPL Meter

    [​IMG]




    P.S. I hate to break it to you, Leonard, but your command of english is not terribly conducive to understanding...
     
  17. Leonard_M

    Leonard_M Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for everything JeremyErwin, and sorry about the english but thats what happens when you rush and are working 12 hours days on an oil rig, but you understood it so it cant be that bad
     

Share This Page