36" Direct View Question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brett Nix, Sep 18, 2002.

1. Brett Nix

Brett Nix Auditioning

Newbie here with a question. Just ordered a Denon 3802 from 6Ave (thanks for the tip, everyone) and am wanting to upgrade TV's as well. For various reasons am not looking at projection and was interested in opinions between the Panasonic CT36HL42 vs Sony KV-36HS500 vs KV-36XBR800 vs any Hitachi or Toshiba. I'm looking for the most bang for the buck but also want a TV I won't be looking to replace in 2 years. Any suggestions? Thanks.

2. jeff lam

jeff lam Screenwriter

Jeff Lam
    THe XBR is best overall. What is your viewing habbits? Maybe you should also consider the 34" 16x9 if you watch mostly HD and DVD's, I'm not exactly sure about the HL series but the Panasonic 4x3's don't do the squeeze with 480i/p, only 1080i from what I have read. If it's true, that may disqualify that set if the squeeze is important to you.
    The toshiba 36hf72 is nice, an excellent picture comparable to the sony, no DVI though.

3. Jimmy vb

Jimmy vb Stunt Coordinator

I bought the xbr and I'm happy with it so far. The adjustable drc and the warranty are the primary upgrades over the hs. The adjustable drc does seem to make a difference and the warranty is significantly better--it makes buying an extended warranty unnecessary. I would bite the bullet and buy the xbr. The only thing I am wondering about is whether I should break down and get the 40 inch(I still have three weeks left in my 30 day window)--I will consider this next week.