What's new

Could a member please explain what I'm seeing? (1 Viewer)

Fortmiller

Auditioning
Real Name
Kevin F Miller
I've had some challenges with a new 4K set - what is going on in this snapshot?

Attachments

• IMG_6496.JPG
    IMG_6496.JPG
    74.4 KB · Views: 83

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Is that an edge-lit LCD display? I assume you're referring to the vertical bands of brightness near the middle and left sides of the screens - surrounding the light-colored images on the screen.

While I'm no expert in LCD display artifacts, this seems like the sort of side-effect you get from edge-lit displays when viewing high-contrast images in very localized areas of the screen. I had no idea it would be that bad, though.

LCD displays with full-array local dimming (FALD) don't use edge lighting, instead using "zones" of LEDs behind the LCD panel to brighten or dim the picture in a much more effective manner.

I tend to think there's not much you can do to fix the issue.

Drtrcr22

Grip
Real Name
Matt
To me looks like a Samsung uhd6500 series tv oled? I can't tell what the box say tho. Is it an error box or does it say loading if it sauna loading need to hook it up to internet if possible and let the tv update or go into your setting and try to manually engage an update. I

Drtrcr22

Grip
Real Name
Matt
Addition to last. Also curved tv. Also looks like you could be in pip could be wrong check your input settings as well. Hard to really tell what's going on in your picture sorry

Fortmiller

Auditioning
Real Name
Kevin F Miller