What's new

New Home Theater in my new home. Some questions. (1 Viewer)

kyldh

Auditioning
Real Name
Kyle
Hello,
I'm new to the forum and looking for some advice. I'm not a complete novice with Home Theater equipment in general, but I'm definitely a novice with setting up a Home Theater with wires run through the walls. I've always been in rentals where I was unable to install anything in a permanent way.

My wife and I are building a new home and I figured that I should prepare ahead of time so that I can run wire for my future Home Theater before they drywall while the walls are completely open. I will either run the wire myself or ask the electrician if he'll do it while running the power wire and Ethernet.

So, on to the questions...

1) Is it OK to cross/intersect a power line? I know I wouldn't want to run parallel, but I wasn't sure if 1 crossing would cause any issues.

2) How are the speaker wires "terminated" on the wall? Is there a plate you'd put on the wall? Let me explain my question...
Here's a random google image of a Klipsch Quintet speaker like mine mounted on the wall: http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb215/RTROSE_album/DSC03441.jpg
The base of the speaker sits flush against the wall and speaker cable is run out of the wall through a hole in the base. Is there a recessed plate that the wire is terminated to on the wall so I just need to then run a 2 or 3 inch "patch cable" to the speaker? It seems like it'd be a bad idea to just have a hole in your wall with some cable hanging there because it'd be a real pain in the a** if the cable fell back into the wall and you had to try and fish it through again.

3) Any recommendations on what conduit to run through the wall from the TV down to my receiver for any HDMI cables?

Any other recommendations for solutions I might not be thinking of?

Thanks a lot!

ArmSC

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Tony
Hey Kyle welcome to the forum! Let's see if we can get you in the right direction.