What's new

Clarity needed (1 Viewer)

Drtrcr22

Grip
Real Name
Matt
Im a rookie at this I have owned a 1000 watt in the box DVD theater system by Samsung jt4100 series I believe. Why is it that a lower wattage system that of entry levels like the onkyo hit-s3700 or the Yamaha yht-3920ubl just to name a couple have better richer and crisper sound quality deeper and all around bass quality. Now I'm not looking for a 10 grand system. I love bass in action movies I want to feel it like I'm there and I want to be surrounded with what's going on. My system now just doesn't do that now. I don't know if it's drivers or something more complex. So that's where I need clarity of how it actually works. Thank you

Reactions: PMF

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
The big difference for you, Matt, could be because the Samsung J4100 has a passive subwoofer when I know, from experience, that the Onkyo S5400 has a powered sub. I've not heard the Onkyo 3700. If you are looking for the oomph of bass from action films...a powered subwoofer can make a big difference.

My son has had the S5400 since 2012 and has never been disappointed by it. It can really feel his room with some loud, dynamic audio. I recommend the Onkyo HTiBs quite a lot on these pages based on his experience. And they are totally upgradeable (lots of inputs for new sources).

But there may be other reasons. I'll add a link to Amazon's specs on your Samsung system and see if we can get any other opinions from our in-house experts on the subject. :thumbsup:

:welcome: Welcome to the Home Theater Forum!

Reactions: PMF

Drtrcr22

Grip
Real Name
Matt