What's new

$3000 to spend on screen, tv & sound, help. (1 Viewer)

Larry*S

Agent
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum. Ive been reading the threads for the past few months, and finally got the courage to ask my first question. Being a newbie, I'm sure my question, and future questions have been answered tim and time again, so I appologize in advance for the repetative questions.

Anyway, I have a budget of approximately $3000 for :

Front projection TV
Screen
Sound system.

I understand that I will need dvd, cables..... but thats another budget.

I will be viewing dvd's 90% of the time, so looking 16:9

Room is 17 ft by 10 ft, will be viewing the long way.

seats will be 12 to 16 feet from screen.

looking for a fixed screen

projector to be mounted to ceiling, anywhere from 10 to 14 feet from where the screen will be.

ceiling about 7 ft high

Room is exclusively for theater viewing, absolutely no light at all.

I also understand the many diff brands, types... so just some general guidance would be appreciated.

I live on Long Island, New York. Anyone from around here, and can point me to a place where I could see the projectors in person?

thanks in adavance,

larry*s

kyle-sm

Agent
I'm just going to recommend that you buy all cables on ebay (always soooo much cheaper), also harmon kardon, jbl, and infinity sell all of their refurbished stuff on ebay with the original warranty. I've had good luck with a center channel, and sub on these auctions. Check em out.

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph