What's new

3 ch amp for L C and R (1 Viewer)

Eric D Wong

Stunt Coordinator
Looking for 3 channel amp, around 100-200 wattx3 into 8 ohms. not
looking for anything super high end (krell, bryston, ) but something along the
lines of Adcom, Rotel, etc. I see the Acurus 100x3 looks appealing,
however its 4 ohm power spec isnt that great and the product is kinda
old but this is the closest I've found so far. Also the Rotel RB993, Adcom GFA 5503 (little pricey). or the monoblock route like 3 Marantz MA500/700s but thats getting pricey. Any suggestions?

BTW these would be driving Maggie MGIIIA mains and probbly a Magnepan center. Rears and subs handled by existing Adcom GFA 2535.

GeraldK

Agent
Since you're already using an Adcom for the rears, dig around for a used GFA-6000. It's a 5-ch (100x3, 60x2) I've been using to drive the three Def Techs up front for several years. Tried to find one on Ebay just before this post, but no luck.

Rachael B

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rachael Bellomy
The right person saw your thread today. I own the Adcom and the Rotel amps you're intrested in. I got the Rotel first because I got it new the year they made them. It was the best power amp I'd owned at that time. It's second place now. It draws alot of current and you cannot plug into wimpy surge/conditioner units. BTW, I use a PS Audio Ultimate Outlet to protect mine. It currently powers Atlantic Tech 250 series speakers to something near to the best they can be. I have used it to power Paradigm Monitor 7's and 11's and it did very well with them. It's getting towards the end of it's 5 year warranty with nary a problem.