$2500 to spend

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Marshall Sander, Mar 2, 2002.

  1. Marshall Sander

    Marshall Sander Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have $2500 to spend on a tv.

    It has to be HDTV ready

    It can't be bigger than 55"

    I don't care between 4:3 or 16:9

    Two I have selected are the Sony XBR 36" and the Mitsubishi 43" RP.

    I would appreciate any comments on those two choices and any other recommendations you may have. Thank you.
     
  2. Brian Harnish

    Brian Harnish Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would definitely go for the 43" Mits. RPTV. Their 16x9 HDTV-ready sets are gorgeous (from what I've seen on the showroom floor, anyways). The 36" XBR is also a very nice choice. I would be satisfied with either of them. However, in the HT world, wider and bigger is always better. IMO, you should go with the Mits. There have been excellent reviews on the Mits. posted here. I would also look at Toshiba's RPTVs if I were you (several HTFers consider them to be the best RPTVs available). I think their 42H81 (HDTV-ready) RPTV has an MSRP of $2500.00.
     
  3. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the Sony 36XBR450 and I love it. BUT, if I wasn't in an apartment with limited space and I had room for a 55" TV, I think that I would have bought a bigger, widescreen TV. Yes, bigger is better. I have been to The Bigscreen Store that sells Mitsubishis exclusively and I was very impressed with their sets.

    My suggetsion: Get the biggest TV you can afford with the features you want. I would get a widescreen model with at least 2 HD inputs.

    -Chris
     
  4. VicRuiz

    VicRuiz Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 21, 2000
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Sean Patrick

    Sean Patrick Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 1999
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    that refurbished philips looks SWEET

    i thought i was sold on the RCA tube 38" set, but i really would like a bigger set with more than one HD input. That Philips might be the answer and the price is right.
     
  6. Hugh M

    Hugh M Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vic,

    I think I've seen one of those philips sets with an RGB 15-pin connection.

    does that model have an RGB connection, in otherwords, would either of those models be suitable for HTPC use?
     
  7. Kishu

    Kishu Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2000
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Philips set would be ideal for HTPC use [​IMG]
    Cheers,
    Kishore
     
  8. VicRuiz

    VicRuiz Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 21, 2000
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, that set has one component HD connection and one RGB HD 15-pin connection.
     
  9. VicRuiz

    VicRuiz Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 21, 2000
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. VicRuiz

    VicRuiz Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 21, 2000
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I figured one more inch wouldn't make much of a difference.
     
  11. Sean Patrick

    Sean Patrick Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 1999
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    onecall has upped the price of that refurbished Philips by about $90. still a great deal. i have to wait a few weeks because i'm moving, i bet it's not there when i really want to order it.
     
  12. Pete Gitta

    Pete Gitta Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since you're not going bigger than 45", the NEC Multisync VT45 FP for around $1800 seems a great choice to me. The smaller picture will eliminate any pixilation at 800 X 600, you can move it to any room you please, It's compatible with ALL HDTV formats, and at just 6 pounds, you don't need to rent a U-Haul to move it.
     
  13. Ed St. Clair

    Ed St. Clair Producer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Patrick G,

    Can you turn off the VSM, on the Tosh?
     
  14. Patrick G

    Patrick G Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2000
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure about the VSM, but you can definitely turn off the SVM [​IMG] In fact, you can do it 3 different ways: You can turn it off via the user menu (by starting in Movie Mode), by unplugging the connector on the CRT board, or you can unplug the power connector at the source on the main board.
     
  15. Ed St. Clair

    Ed St. Clair Producer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Patrick G, I think.
    I was asking about Velocity Scan Modulation [VSM]. This is a 'feature' Tosh dubs as "advanced", Ooooooo! Your writing about SVM? Which I believe to be the same thing. Funny thing is the Tosh hotline says you can not turn this off. Talked too them after my post, And you come up with three ways, I think, to do it. And one's even safe & legal[​IMG]
    Thanks!
     
  16. Ed St. Clair

    Ed St. Clair Producer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not on the Tosh site!

    But will differ to you & Perfect Vision.

    SVM.
     

Share This Page