20~25ft from htpc to projector, what cables to use?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Oupei, May 30, 2004.

  1. Oupei

    Oupei Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to connect a htpc and a projector through a 20~25 tunnel in the roof of my basement. should I use:

    1. dvi
    2. vga
    3. s-video
    4. something else?
     
  2. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, my thought is that you'd get the best quality with a DVI connection and an amp. Though I imagine a high quality cable could make the run without one.
     
  3. Dalton

    Dalton Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Real Name:
    Dalton
    I run a 25ft VGA cable to my PJ. Got it at PCCables.com and have been very happy with it. I don't have DVI so i can't comment on that. I will say the picture quality from the 25ft VGA cable is outstanding. Plus it will be much less $$$ than a 25ft DVI cable.
     
  4. Oupei

    Oupei Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't seen any 25ft dvi cables and I assumed it was due to some limitation of the nature of the cable. by amp, do you mean an inline amp to amplify the signal? as in connecting:

    htpc >> inline amp >> projector?

    I haven't seen any inline amps for dvi, but I'll go searching.

    and vga doesn't sound too bad either. I'll use that if dvi doesn't work out.

    edit:
    hmm... I found some dvi splitter/amps but they're $200~300+. I also found a 25ft dvi-d-m cable at pccables.com. if that cable is ok, I think I'll go with that. what do you guys think?
     
  5. Francois Caron

    Francois Caron Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    2,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Francois Caron
    I use a thick 25 foot VGA cable myself (no DVI input on the projector). Interesting thing though. I get better picture quality if I pump a high resolution signal through it (I normally project at 1280x720) instead of a low resolution signal which picks up tons of radio interference from the surrounding area (problems start at 800x600). My home theater appears to be located within an RF focal point -- the sub was also affected.

    From what I've read, DVI cables appear to have a lot of trouble handling high resolution signals on long cable runs, a total opposite of what I've experienced. But throw in a signal amplifier if available and you might be okay.

    BTW, the VGA cable only cost me $50 Canadian, a lot cheaper than a DVI cable and a signal amp.
     
  6. Lance_R

    Lance_R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2000
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also run a 25ft VGA cable back to my PJ and the PQ is great.
     

Share This Page