2 subwoofer questions

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by VinnieJC, Jan 14, 2005.

  1. VinnieJC

    VinnieJC Extra

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have recently bought a Yamaha YST-SW215. (I have a modest HT) It’s a nice little sub with good pop. I was thinking of possibly getting another (Best Buy has them for $99.00). My question is with how it would be connected to my receiver combined with the other.

    Would it work if I connected a sub cable from the pre-out on the receiver, used a Y cable and split the connection, with one going to one sub and one to the other sub?

    Also, is it better to utilize both line-in inputs on the sub itself (using a Y Cable) ? I have read where there is no difference, and in other cases, it’s the optimal setup.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. SteveAZ

    SteveAZ Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most recievers only have one sub output. That is where you would plug in your Y-adapter. Then you can run the two sub cables to each sub.

    Using both line inputs really only adds voltage to the input signal; the same as increasing the sub out level in the receiver. There is no gain in sub performance by using both inputs. The only instance I would suggest it, is if you are having trouble getting a strong enough signal to turn on the sub.
     
  3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,207
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Last question first:
    You could do it that way, but it’s a waste of cabling. That’s because the two inputs of all subs are internally summed. Thus, since you already have a cable going from the receiver to one input of the first sub, all you need to do is run a cable from the other input to the second sub.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  4. VinnieJC

    VinnieJC Extra

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>You could do it that way, but it’s a waste of cabling. That’s because the two inputs of all subs are internally summed. Thus, since you already have a cable going from the receiver to one input of the first sub, all you need to do is run a cable from the other input to the second sub.
     
  5. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,207
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    I’ve never tried it, but it should work. Even if it doesn’t, no loss. You can use your “y” splitter the same way – at the sub end, not the receiver end: Plug it into the first sub, and run the other side to the second sub.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     

Share This Page