2 network devices, only one port on computer

Discussion in 'Computers' started by jeff peterson, Jun 17, 2004.

  1. jeff peterson

    jeff peterson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1998
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a cable modem hooked to my PC's one network port and want to connect a digital media receiver. Do I need some kind of network switch or a pigtail type adapter; ie, 2 female network ports, one male? Or is it possible to just add another network card to the PC?
     
  2. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need a switch. It may also make your life easier to have a router. You can buy several routers with built-in switches (Linksys, D-Link, Belkin, etc). Look on Ebay and you can probably get one for about $30.
     
  3. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will have to have a router. The network media device will need an IP, and most cable modems, etc. won't dish out two unless you pay extra [​IMG]

    A router with switch are available cheaply (less then $40) that do simple NAT and will fix your problem right up [​IMG]
     
  4. jeff peterson

    jeff peterson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1998
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, fellas. Is it possible to just add another network card? If I go with a switcher, does that imply I can only use the cable mode OR the network media receiver; not both simultaneously?
     
  5. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. A switch/router allows you to use many devices all at the same time. Your idea about adding a network card will work (I assume you mean adding a NIC to the PC and running an ethernet cable from there to media receiver). But the router/switch is a much simpler and easier to add on to in the future.
     
  6. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Up until a week ago, I had two computers, xbox live and replayTV hooked up through comcast just using a switch...been like this for about a year. Then they updated my cable modem to where I could only have one IP without letting me know. When I called to find out what happened, they told me I'd need to pay $5/month for each device I wanted connected. I just told the guy "nah, I'll just pick up a router for $30, thanks anyways.
     

Share This Page