2 channel preamp with sub out - Such a thing?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom Garvey, Dec 23, 2002.

  1. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    If so let me know what they are.. I'd like one. Thanks!
     
  2. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,694
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Tom, you can just get a sub with low-pass inputs and an output. Then you send the high-pass material out and on to the main amp. I would pick an audio only preamp out on criteria other than having a sub output, because few will. I have a sub set-up thusy in a stereo system and it works beautifully. Best wishes!
     
  3. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. I am trying to avoid running more than one wire. This set up is in my sunroom and the sub is across the room. Nowhere to hide wires really.
    BTW, That is one goofy site you have [​IMG]
     
  4. Danny Tse

    Danny Tse Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if this applies, but the current stereo receivers from HK have both main-in/pre-outs and a separate sub output. I suppose you can get one of these and use it as a 2 channel pre-amp and connect a sub to it.
     
  5. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,694
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Hey Tom, I'm glad you got a chuckle out of my PNT site, evidently! I had my Marantz AV9000 hooked up as a stereo with sub for awhile when I first moved in my my new place. It made a darn good stereo. I suppose you'll have to use an A/V pre to get the subwoofer output you want. The Marantz is one of the more musical ones out there and it's trading at greatly reduced prices these days since it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the latest models. Best holiday wishes! [​IMG]
     
  6. Kevin Deacon

    Kevin Deacon Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could also use an Outlaw ICBM between the Pre and Amp. This will act as the crossover and bass management to the sub. I think there is an ICBM waiting for me under the tree so I will let you know how it works.
     
  7. BobRoulier

    BobRoulier Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think anthems 2 channel pre-amp does this, I forget the model # check out sonic frontiers website for more info!


    Bob
     
  8. DaveHo

    DaveHo Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm currently using a Parasound PSP-1500 as the control unit for my system. This unit has a "Stereo Direct" mode which sends the full range untouched signal to the front left/right and sub output. Incidently, it may be for sale in the near future.

    In the past when I had a dedicated two channel system, I have used good quality Y connectors to feed the main amp and sub. Of course the main speakers will still be getting a full range signal.

    -Dave
     

Share This Page