What's new

$2,000 rptv what shoud like be looking at? (1 Viewer)

JakeMcM

Stunt Coordinator
I'm in the market for about a 2,000 rptv. I am completely new to this. I will use if for dvds/tv/video games. Do video games cause problem?? I am looking at either a 47/48 inch or 50 inches. I sit about 8-9ft away. I am worried about burn in but I read that as long as contrast is set correctly etc that I should be fine? Does that hold true for video games. Are some sets more likely to burn in that others in my price range? Any suggestions on what I should research will be greatly appreciated.

Geordy

Stunt Coordinator
[LINK REMOVED BY ADMIN]

this website has factory refurbished hitachi's, i stumbled across this url yesterday on avsforum.com
hard to find a better deal on an RPTV

[ADMIN AGAIN: JUST PM JAKE WITH THE URL. THANKS!]

sean_pecor

Stunt Coordinator
Jake - I was recently shopping for exactly the same RPTV. Approximately 48-50", for around $2,000. For what it's worth, here are my top 3 recommendations:

1) Mitsubishi WS-48311
http://electronics.cnet.com/electron...-20673705.html

2) Sony KP-46WT500
http://electronics.cnet.com/electron...7.html?tag=dir

3) Toshiba 50HDX82 http://att.cnet.com/electronics/0-63...0.html?tag=dir

In the end, I decided to purchase the Mitsubishi, because of it's array of PIP capabilities, picture quality and enclosure design. It is the only RPTV I found that you can fully enclose within a cabinet. It has an inset underneath the screen frame of ~ 2", so you can literally hide the entire enclosure, as in my wall unit design:

http://extranet.digitalspinner.com/ht/ecenter7.jpg

You can get a slightly stripped down version of the Mitsubishi WS-48311 at Best Buy; it's called the WS-A48 and among other things it lacks defeatable edge enhancement. You can get it white-glove delivered for around $2,080 from some respectable online shops.