18" subwoofer use in Home Theater

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kyle, Mar 5, 2001.

1. Kyle

Kyle Stunt Coordinator

I am quite new to designing HomeTheaters but I have years of experience installing car audio systems so please bear with me. I have just traded 2 of my 4 12" in Kicker speakers for 1 18" sub even up. I was thinking of putting this into my home theater some how. I currently have an 100 watt 8" for a sub, does the job but doesn't get very low. I have an old Carver amp (300 watt) that I could use for the power for the 18". My question basically is: Will an 18" be too muddy for use in a home theater? I will use a sealed box as with all of Kicker speakers.
    ------------------
    Kyle

2. Harold A

Harold A Stunt Coordinator

Kyle,
    First, do you have any specs on the driver? It will help a lot in designing the box. There are many software packages that you can download that will help you in designing the box but you need the driver parameters. You just can not throw into into a box and have it sound good. What size box do you plan to use? I am not an expert here I am relativley new to DIY subs only built 2 so others will chime in with more help.

3. Kyle

Kyle Stunt Coordinator

I don't have the specs on it right now. (I am at work) but I do know Stillwater designs recommends a 3 1/2 to 4 cubic foot box. The problem is not box design (I have built many) Rather, with such a big driver has anyone had any issues with "sloppy or muddy" bass. I know it was designed to hit the lowest of frequencies but just wondering if anyone has experience with using such a driver in a home theater?
    ------------------
    Kyle

4. Greg Monfort

Greg Monfort Supporting Actor

'Sloppy', or 'muddy' is a function of cab alignment, so you can design it out/in as you choose, unless the driver has a Qts > ~.577, then this sets the best alignment possible.
    GM
    ------------------
    Loud is beautiful, if it's clean

5. Chris Hoppe