12x13 room for a ht, some hints, tips and things wanted.

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Steve Adams, Jul 19, 2003.

1. Steve Adams

Steve Adams Second Unit

I have purchased a new house, I have a 12x13 room downstairs that im going to use for my ht. im looking any tips etc that might help me. thanks

2. Mathew Shelby

Mathew Shelby Second Unit

Can you please be a little more specific? What are you looking for a projector or a RPTV. Do you want High Definition. What equipment do you have or are you starting from scratch. What exactly do you want tips on? Wiring? Equipment? Furniture? This is the only way we can help you...

3. Steve Adams

Steve Adams Second Unit

Sorry, I just have a flat screen tv right now, but im going to get the z1 front proj, right now Im looking for construction tips, like sound proofing, how to get proper acoustics etc.....

4. Larry Talbot

Larry Talbot Second Unit

12x13 is pretty close to a square, and from what I've read (I'm no expert) square shapes are not the best for home theater in terms of sound. My own personal experience bore this out: When I moved to a new home and had no choice but to move my HT into a small, nearly square-shaped room, the sound quality suffered immensely, mostly due to reflections (the room also has hard wood floors, making things even more difficult.)
    Just recently, I finally got around to building some sound absorption panels. I was extremely relieved to find that, with the panels, my system actually sounds BETTER, in many respects, than it did in its prior, more suitable location. So if reflections are a problem in your new room (try clapping your hands to see if it sounds at all metalic or echoey, like the inside of a tiled bathroom - if it does, you've got reflections) I HIGHLY recommend sound absorption panels. For a little money and a few hours of work, they literally saved my theater.