12 volt trigger

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Don Y, Apr 24, 2002.

  1. Don Y

    Don Y Guest

    My receiver has a 12 volt trigger. Can I split this signal to two surge protectors. The Paramax has surge protectors that can be activated with a 12 volt trigger. The problem is my components are split half on one side of my tv the other half on the other side. I will be using two Paramax surge protectors and would like to trigger them both with my receiver.
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    I don’t see why it would be a problem. A parallel configuration like this gives the same voltage to both wires.

    Regards,

    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  3. Tim Hood

    Tim Hood Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wouldn't the current needed to activate the Panamax matter?

    It could pull too much current from the original 12V source?

    Even though when paralleled the voltage is the same, it might be too demanding.

    Just being paranoid I suppose.

    Tim
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
     
  5. James Mudler

    James Mudler Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have two panamax 1000+ triggered by my Lexicon with is 12 volts. No problems for over a year. Just a FYI
     
  6. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you do just plug a 12volt wall wart into a switched outlet on the pack of your unit and cut off the plug
     
  7. Bill_Weinreich

    Bill_Weinreich Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The current draw for a trigger is usually minimal. Usually a few mA. All that it does is turn on a logic circuit (a relay is used for higer power equip)inside the other component. So splitting shouldnt be a problem. If it is a major concerne, there should be a rating on the receiver for the trigger. Also, depending on the receiver, the output may be fused for just such a problem.

    Bill
     

Share This Page